Summertime Sweet Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
I think it is great to have cucmbers that you can have dills to eat while you are waiting for tha other dill to process
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Liz, you are right this is a GREAT all year round recipe. I espec. like to use pickling cukes when available. Also I always add 1/2 Teasp. of Celery Seed plus 3 drops of Oil of Cloves (depending on how much I make). These are sooooo yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Boehm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Excellent recipe! My whole family loves these pickles. Very quick and easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Loved these pickles, and so did everyone at the office. And, they were so easy to make. Perfect for the bumper crop of cukes this year. I used Splenda to cut the calories to zilch, and I didn't have any mustard seeds, so I used some ground mustard - tastes great!! Next time I might try adding a chopped jalapeno to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I never made pickles before and was skeptical about this too easy to be true recipe, HOWEVER...this recipe is unbelievably good. Fabulous, like bread and butter pickles...only better! I made another batch the very next day! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Altho' I modified the recipe slightly by adding some turmeric and mustard seed for added flavor, the recipe is great! Everyone who has tried them has loved the pickles. Quick & easy...gone almost as fast as they're made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
What is nice is that the pickles stay crunchy, as well as taste great! I omitted the onions. Did not have mustard seed, so used half as much mustard powder. Added 1/2 tsp celery seed and 1/2 tsp dill seed. Used English cukes (one = 1 lb). Added 1/2 cup water cuz seemed like not enough liquid to cover, although the pickles did shrink down. Keep in the frig and eat right away! They won't last long! Highly recommend, and no trouble to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I used a cider vinegar and found the taste to be way to strong for me. I've gota similar recipe that uses white vinegar instead. That one calls for 3 days in the refrigerator but I'm not sure it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
They came out very good. Nice addition to my pickle recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was my first pickling experience ever and it turned out well. I used the burpless cukes (had an over abundance) and I added 2 tsp. tumeric by mistake, but over all they were really good. The skin is a little tough b/c it's not a pickling cuke, but they are very tasty. They sort of taste like a bread and butter pickle. Will make again next year. With the right cukes this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States