Summertime Sweet Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made these pickles for the first time last summer. My family and friends can't wait for my first batch this year! The recipe is simple and the pickles are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I did not like this recipe...much too sweet...nobody in my family liked them, and we all love sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was my first pickling experience ever and it turned out well. I used the burpless cukes (had an over abundance) and I added 2 tsp. tumeric by mistake, but over all they were really good. The skin is a little tough b/c it's not a pickling cuke, but they are very tasty. They sort of taste like a bread and butter pickle. Will make again next year. With the right cukes this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
They came out very good. Nice addition to my pickle recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I used a cider vinegar and found the taste to be way to strong for me. I've gota similar recipe that uses white vinegar instead. That one calls for 3 days in the refrigerator but I'm not sure it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
What is nice is that the pickles stay crunchy, as well as taste great! I omitted the onions. Did not have mustard seed, so used half as much mustard powder. Added 1/2 tsp celery seed and 1/2 tsp dill seed. Used English cukes (one = 1 lb). Added 1/2 cup water cuz seemed like not enough liquid to cover, although the pickles did shrink down. Keep in the frig and eat right away! They won't last long! Highly recommend, and no trouble to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Altho' I modified the recipe slightly by adding some turmeric and mustard seed for added flavor, the recipe is great! Everyone who has tried them has loved the pickles. Quick & easy...gone almost as fast as they're made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I never made pickles before and was skeptical about this too easy to be true recipe, HOWEVER...this recipe is unbelievably good. Fabulous, like bread and butter pickles...only better! I made another batch the very next day! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Loved these pickles, and so did everyone at the office. And, they were so easy to make. Perfect for the bumper crop of cukes this year. I used Splenda to cut the calories to zilch, and I didn't have any mustard seeds, so I used some ground mustard - tastes great!! Next time I might try adding a chopped jalapeno to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Excellent recipe! My whole family loves these pickles. Very quick and easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States