Summertime Sweet Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
This was absolutely delicious. Even my husband who does not like pickles liked them. I sliced the cukes instead of spears, and added some green tomatoes. I have made several jars of this and will be giving them out to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I made it per the instructions with the cucumbers I had available in my garden. Turns out I needed a bit more liquid. The next time I made them I tripled the ingredients and was able to put up 4 pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Pickles had good flavor but found them to be a little too salty. Going to modify the salt ratio next time so it won't be so salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Davis
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I used this recipe to put a sweet pickle on some jalapeno peppers and vidalia onion and it's bomb. It needed a full two days to really get the best flavor but now that it's had that time they are fantastic on burgers, hot dogs and metts. Next time I'll do a fine dice on the veg and remove the seeds as they are too hot for some of my more timid diners. I'm also thinking that perhaps making a cache of the mustard seed would be a good so they're gone after they've had a chance to sit a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
It reminded me a lot more of Kimchi, just without the cabbage. Also, the recipe seems to be for two jars, not one, as I bought half the ingredients yet made a full quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robertjm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My grandson (age 6) loves pickles. It's one of his favorite foods. On a recent sleep-over, we used this recipe with our home grown cucumber first harvest. He was eager to have a taste, so we sampled our work after only 14 hours. They were fabulous! He said, "They were the most delicious pickles I've ever tasted."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
More sweet and sour than sweet but very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Way to much SALT!!! 2nd time I cut the salt back to 1 Tablespoon (1/2 what it called for) - Much better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I'm always looking for new and different recipes for pickles because everyone in my family loves them, sweet, sour, doesn't matter, so when I saw how easy these were and all of the good reviews I figured I'd give them a shot. I was suspicious about them being ready in just 24 hours, and I was right. I was really disappointed when I pulled one out of the jar about 30 hours after making them....they tasted like sweet cucumbers, not sweet pickles. I used pickling cukes, maybe I should've used regular cucumbers? Also, I sliced the cukes lengthwise so they looked like Vlasic Stackers, but I can't see where that should make any difference. I let them sit for a week and tried them again....much better, I probably would've give n them 4-5 stars, but seeing as they were supposed to be ready in 24 hours I can only rate it 3 stars.....sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States