Summertime Sweet Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My grandson (age 6) loves pickles. It's one of his favorite foods. On a recent sleep-over, we used this recipe with our home grown cucumber first harvest. He was eager to have a taste, so we sampled our work after only 14 hours. They were fabulous! He said, "They were the most delicious pickles I've ever tasted."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
More sweet and sour than sweet but very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Way to much SALT!!! 2nd time I cut the salt back to 1 Tablespoon (1/2 what it called for) - Much better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I'm always looking for new and different recipes for pickles because everyone in my family loves them, sweet, sour, doesn't matter, so when I saw how easy these were and all of the good reviews I figured I'd give them a shot. I was suspicious about them being ready in just 24 hours, and I was right. I was really disappointed when I pulled one out of the jar about 30 hours after making them....they tasted like sweet cucumbers, not sweet pickles. I used pickling cukes, maybe I should've used regular cucumbers? Also, I sliced the cukes lengthwise so they looked like Vlasic Stackers, but I can't see where that should make any difference. I let them sit for a week and tried them again....much better, I probably would've give n them 4-5 stars, but seeing as they were supposed to be ready in 24 hours I can only rate it 3 stars.....sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I had to double the boiled mix in order to get enough to completely submerge the cucumbers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love this recipe! Very easy to make and it has the perfect tangy-sweet taste. Great way to use your garden cucumbers. My daughter-in-law & her sister love them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These pickles taste great however they aren't that crunchy, they are crisp around the edge of the pickle but too soft in the middle. They are very easy to make wish they could be more crunchy like store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
AWESOME. Make more next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karencarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I've been asked several times to make these for people who tried the first batches last summer, which is the best compliment for any cook. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States