Summer Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was good! I sauted the zucchini and onion in olive oil instead of boiling, due to personal preference. We'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
You have to try this casserole! This was the best casserole I've ever made! I was surprised at how good it turned out..it was great re-heated too! It is really good with fresh french bread and spring salad. I have made it every week so far. Thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was good. There was too much zucchini (yes, I know it's a zucchini casserole!) and it kind of overpowered all the other ingredients. But I wanted to use up a lot of the zucchini we were given, so I tried it! I used maybe 3/8 cup of onion, two huge honkin' zucchini, and I chopped up 8 or 9 baby carrots instead of using grated. I diced up a stalk of celery and boiled it with the other veggies (including the carrots). I used margarine instead of butter and half low-fat/half regular sour cream. I added one can of drained, flaked chicken and I was really glad I did - next time, I might cook and chop up a chicken breast to add to the mix. I would not want this all the time, but it was a nice change in the casserole world. :) I really enjoyed the stuffing part: yummy and soggy on the bottom, yummy and crunchy on top. Next time, I might double the stuffing. Thanks, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This recipe is always a hit with my family. I have started adding cubed chicken to it for a one dish complete meal. It is now being requested when I attend functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My family loved this, even my 4 year old. I didn't have a full 2 lbs. of squash, so I added red pepper and some frozen corn. I also added a can of chicken breast and some jack cheese. Rather than boil the veggies, I sauteed them in some olive oil and butter and added some salt, pepper, cumin and garlic. Also, I only used half a stick of butter and added some chicken broth to the stuffing mix. It was a really nice comfort food dinner with roasted beets and a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This recipe has great potential! My family likes a little more "kick" so I added diced red pepper, garlic, sliced mushrooms and 1/2 cup ricotta cheese. another good way to utilize an abundance of summer squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Great recipe. I changed a few things in mine: Cream of Mushroom soup and I added cut-up chicken tenders. I also substitued chopped garlic for the onion. Nice blend of flavors, but my grandson didn't care for the garlic, mushroom soup, zucchini or sour cream. We loved it. He ate Ramen Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Added shredded chicken and had no onions. Used Stove Top stuffing mix, and made it according to package directions. Will make again and add more veggies and NOT skip the onions. Very yummy and don't forget to grab a can of cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
This casserole is awesome! My 2 year old loves it too - which is a MIRACLE! I added a littel cheddar cheese to the mix, which was very yummy too. Great recipe, and a fantastic way to get little ones to eat their veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is something like I've never tasted before and it was VERY GOOD! I used lite sour cream and regular margarine and it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States