Summer Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Wow, this was amazing. I halved the cumin & chili powder b/c my husband does not like any heat and I even forgot to add any salt or pepper--and it was still packed with flavor! I ate with feta cheese and Ritz crackers & loved it. I will definitely make this again! I plan to try with brown rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ypoitras
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I liked, very much, as my wife. Not the kids, maybe because of the cilantro, but they are very difficult, it doesn't count. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ypoitras
Home Town: Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
So delicious. A little time consuming, but worth it! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This recipe has a very good base, so I'm sure it's very good. Beware of the kind of chili that you are using, though! Mine was unfortunately a crazy hot mix, so 2 tablespoons made the chili impossible to eat, even after doubling all of the other ingredients. Note: My husband puts hot sauce on everything and he wasn't even able to eat more than a spoonful of chili! But if we put the burn aside, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was delicious and easy. I took it to work thinking it would last a couple of days and it disappeared within a few hours with everyone raving about how good it was (this from a very carnivorous crowd!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe. I ususally use a can of black beans and a can each of light and dark kidney beans. I also use both a red and green bell pepper and sometimes add a cup of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Williford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My friends were skeptical when they first found out it was vegetarian and I made enough for 12 people... after they'd already finished dinner. I took off to watch a film for 2 hours, and when I came back, the entire pot was clean! Need I say more? By the way, adding homemade guacamole, shredded Tillamook cheddar cheese, and Knudsen sour cream really helped the consistency and flavor. (I forgot to add salt in the guac too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good and very healthy! Score two! I substituted 2 cans of diced tomatoes for the fresh (we don't have them in farmer's markets yet here) and added a can of red kidney beans (I love lots of beans in chili). I did use wine, a Shiraz which was a little too sweet for my tastes but turned out fine in the chili. Also I used WAY less cilantro, probably used less then a quarter cup and worked fine. It really needed some more depth of spices, I added some seasoned salt, oregano, thyme and basil, although just a bit since I didn't want to turn this into an Italian sauce! Chili powder, cumin and cilantro are still the stars. Very happy with the result. Used the suggestion of serving on brown rice, something I've never done with chili before, but that was great with this recipe! I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Pretty good! I left out the mushrooms and bell peppers because I didn't have any. I used soaked black beans instead of canned (I like the texture better), fresh corn and some canned tomatoes to round out my lone fresh one. A great way to use some of my garden veggies. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States