Summer Vegetable Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe goes perfect with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
After sauteing the onion, I chopped the rest of the vegetables and added all of them directly to the onions and garlic. The vegetables completely filled my 6 qt. Dutch oven! I covered the pot and cooked the vegetables over medium high heat for 40 minutes. I then added one cup of instant chicken bouillon, recovered the pot and cooked on medium high heat until the vegetables were completely tender, stirring occasionally. I used 1 tablespoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of ground thyme, but I obviously had an enormous amount of vegetables to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It's Ratatouille time again! The only thing this recipe lacks is directions to "sweat" the eggplant. Cut up your eggplant, then cover it with a couple of TABLESPOONS of salt. Set it aside for about 20 minutes, then wash it in about 3 changes of fresh water, and pat dry. Air dry it some more after that, while you are sauteeing the other veg. Then proceed. Leftovers from this dish are better the next day... If you have extremely fresh, young eggplant, you don't have to sweat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very good. I didn't have all the same veggies so I improvised. I didn't have the squashes or all the bell pepper variety; I added asparagus and Portabella mushrooms. I also took some other reviewers advise and added a splash of vegetable broth when I put all the veggies together. I really liked the veggies together, and the eggplant came out very good (I usually have trouble with eggplant.) I also added chickpeas and served it over rice. Not traditional, I'm sure, but it made the meal feel more complete to me. The flavor was nice. A little subtle to me, so I added some extras- sweet basil and a little paprika Overall, yummy and a great way to get a good dose of veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Averill Park, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I didn't read all the reviews so it may hv bn mentioned, but I just wanted to pass along that leftover ratatouille makes an excellent veggie layer in vegetable lasagna. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I make this recipe over and over again. I oftenr add a bit of chicken broth and whatever leftover tomato paste I have frozen from other recipes. It's great with poached eggs in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was SO good! I followed the recipe pretty closely except I just kept adding the vegetables into the main pot as I cut them without adding additional oil, and it turned out divine and not mushy at all. I also added a spoonful of chicken boullion towards the end, and used a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh since that's what I had on hand. It made a delicious side dish sprinkled with parmesan cheese, but I think I liked it even better reheated with a little bit of diced fresh mozzarella mixed in! Thanks for a great recipe - I'll be making this regularly from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcgorty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My family really enjoyed this. I only browned the zucchini, green peppers, and eggplant; and just threw everything else into the pot. Can't wait to unfreeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Fabulous! Even my mother in law - who hates zucchini - ate 2 servings! Next time I'll add mushrooms, but it's great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Amity, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States