Summer Vegetable Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe for using all the delicious, healthy, fresh veggies available this time of year. I only made a few minor changes. I used a nonstick skillet and reduced the amount of olive oil to 1 TB per batch. I also doubled up on the tomatos, which I peeled, cored and seeded and substituted fresh basil for the herbs called for in the original recipe. This was delicious, and we finally used the last of it in an omelet with some jarlsburg cheese! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I thought this dish was fine, but the flavour fell a little flat for some reason. I might try reducing the amount of veggies and/or bumping up the seasonings next time. Used it on top of whole wheat pasta. I have lots of extra so I'll serve it on crostini, or with chicken, or on couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
My husband said, "keep this recipe around." I made some adjustments based on taste and what I had available: -no eggplant (not a family fave) -I added leeks, diced small red potatoes, orange-yellow-red bell peppers for color -Like others, I just sauteed all the veggies together -I used organic canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh..it adds a nice bit of liquid -I used fresh basil since I had it on hand -I added a can of garbanzo beans near the end of cooking for some extra substance -I served it over brown rice -Shaved parmesan cheese added a bit of cheesiness that my daughter seems to need for her veggies It's definitely a keeper, and possibly once a week while the summer veggies are abundant and cheap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I really enjoyed this. I added 1 cup of chicken broth and a small can of tomato paste as another reviewer suggested to make this more palatable for my vegetable-shy boyfriend and he liked it as well. Served it with bread but I might use pasta or rice for the leftovers since it's saucy with add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Delicious, but I saved wash up by sauteeing it all in one big pot. Also used a little less olive oil. Finally my kids hate to see veg so I put it all in a blender and thickened it up with some soft cheese. They ate it up without a clue how healthy it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Great little recipe. Added some additional seasonings per our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Its winter so I only used zucchini and no yellow squash, but this turned out awesome, just like the ratatouille I remember eating in the little french cafe I worked in as a teenager. DEliCiouS! (The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is becuase my family didn't really think it was that awesome.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Excellent and sooo simple too make!! The only thing I did was add mozzarella cheese, some salami and my favorite seasoning Vegeta..it was awesome!! Thank soo much for sharing and I will definately be making it again :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia Station, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
this was excellent. instead of cooking the veggies individually, i just threw them in a pot after cooking the onions and garlic and simmered on medium low for a while. they turned out perfect. top this with a little parmesean cheese and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Delicious! I cut down on the types of vegetables to reduce prep time and it still turned out delicious. Will definitely make again- what an easy way to get your vegetable servings for the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States