Summer Vegetable Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe is pretty good although I tweak it a little each time I make it. The 1st time, I sauteed each vegetable one by one as directed and many of them ended up mushy by the end. The second time, I used a suggestion and just put everything in a baking dish and let the oven do the work for about 40 minutes. It turned out okay, but I'm finding that the eggplant is always a bit touchy. I'm not big on tomatoes either, so I generally leave those out. This time, the only thing I sauteed separate were the onion and garlic, and then threw everything else in, but the skin of the zucchini got a little tough. Still needs tweaking, but all in all....good summer veggie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hlarson21684

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I served this over angel hair pasta and it was really good. Next time I will cut down on the oil a little and will probably just dump it all in the pot at once as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Mine looked more like other photos than the one showing - it had a more "cooked" look and the falvors blended beautifully. THIS is what farmers markets are for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I didn't have the red or yellow peppers. I used two pans at one time. When I was sauteing one veggie, I would cut up the next one and add it to the other pan so at the end my cooking time was shorter. I didn't cook another 20 minutes at end because I already liked the flavors and textures. I didn't want to blend all the flavors and have it mushy. Definitely needs more spices, I added Greek seasoning then sprinkled parmesan on top and served over rotini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! I made this today with fresh veggies from yesterdays farmers market. My daughter smelled it cooking & will taste it when she gets home. She NEVR eats squash, zucchini or eggplant, but she wants to try this. I was just going to taste it & had 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randallstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend and I, and we both loved it. I used basil instead of thyme (just because it's what I had in the kitchen) and omitted the green pepper (neither of us are fans), and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I love this recipe. It is the recipe that got me hooked on allrecipes.com! I make this every year and even plant my garden according to what I'll need for my yearly batch! I am the only one in my house who will eat it but that is fine by me! I use more tomatoes then is called for and probably a little more oil. Olive oil is good for you! It really makes a nice broth on it's own without adding any extra. I like to eat it over angel hair pasta and sometimes add some grilled chicken. It freezes wonderfully so I can enjoy it all year long! Thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Fantastic! This is a great vegetable dish, understand if you or members of the family are not vegetable lovers, you will not be as excited. I used fresh veggies from my garden and did exactly what the receipe called for, except I had to use some can tomatoes as I only had a few fresh on hand. My husband and I loved it, will make again. As another reviewer mention, alittle time consuming on the cutting end, but worth it. Also I sauteed all the veggies separate as called for and they still had a nice texture when eating, I hate it when they all turn to mush, it is like eating a soup. I think that is a important step, and could drastically change the texture if you cook everything in one pot in one step, they all cook at different speeds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
great ratatouille recipe. It's missing something though. Next time I might play with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Love it! Made tonight for our "Meatless Monday" Even the hubby enjoyed it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States