Summer Vegetable Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Everything worked great together and had good flavor! As I did only use the yellow bell pepper in this I think chopping all the bells different ways is a bit unnecessary. I just slice mine in strips anyway. I also used some cherry tomatoes instead of plum tomatoes cause I have tons. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have a much easier and healthier Russian version. Slice two large eggplants into 1/2 inch slices. Broil on a large cookie sheet lined with foil (both sides) until golden (no salting/draining needed). Takes about 20 min total. Chop other veggies (as much as you feel like) but I do one large onion, 4 garlic cloves, 1 large green pepper, 2 large carrots, three large tomatoes, half a can of green peas, parsley to taste, dill to taste, salt to taste, paprika or other pepper to your liking. Put everything, including the broiled eggplant into a ceramic bowl, add salt to taste and 1 spoon of olive oil, mix gently. Put covered in the oven preheated to 350F and cook covered for 1.5 hours, not stirring or disturbing in any way. If your oven is programmable, you can timer it to turn itself off. Voila! It's done. Lots of hassle spared, extremely healthy and working people-minded. Good warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was yummy! I pretty much followed the recipe with only some simple substitutions. Purple onions instead of yellow, black and yellow bell peppers and I used canned diced toms. Only had a small amount of fresh tyme so added in some dry italian seasoning. I served over brown rice with cheddar corn muffins. A very good dinner and easy on the waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very good, I made this for a project and the entire class loved it. Makes more like 10 to 12 servings. I added a bit of chile powder for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very easy and reliable. A great way to satisfy a vegetable craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Really delicious. But next time, rather than chopping and dicing, I'm just going to slice all of my veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I made this last night with all the vegetables I had leftover in my fridge. After sauteing the garlic and onions, I cooked my heavier vegetables (carrots, broccoli) for a few minutes before tossing in my lighter ones (squash, red bell peppers) I also added fresh basil at the end. My teenagers ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe is pretty good although I tweak it a little each time I make it. The 1st time, I sauteed each vegetable one by one as directed and many of them ended up mushy by the end. The second time, I used a suggestion and just put everything in a baking dish and let the oven do the work for about 40 minutes. It turned out okay, but I'm finding that the eggplant is always a bit touchy. I'm not big on tomatoes either, so I generally leave those out. This time, the only thing I sauteed separate were the onion and garlic, and then threw everything else in, but the skin of the zucchini got a little tough. Still needs tweaking, but all in all....good summer veggie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hlarson21684

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I served this over angel hair pasta and it was really good. Next time I will cut down on the oil a little and will probably just dump it all in the pot at once as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States