Summer Vegetable Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Really good Rani! After sauteeing the vegies in my cast iron skillet I added some tomato paste and chicken broth and popped it into the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
If you need a kick of veggies, you can make this a healthy meal in itself!! I used what I had in the house and for veggies only used 1 zucchini, 2 eggplants (I cubed the eggplant then lightly coated with salt and drained in a collander for an hour before cooking), 1 red pepper and substituted 2 cans of drained tomatoes for the fresh. Also added 1 1/2 cups mushrooms too. I also reduced the oil significantly, adding only a splash of oil (and a spray of nonstick cooking spray) each time sauteeing. Didn't have bay leaf or thyme so I used fresh basil and dried oregano and parsley instead. Still turned out divine! Also, be sure to remove the large pot with sauteed onions and garlic from heat until you finish adding all the other veggies (I have a gas range and the onions ended up burning, even on low heat!) Serve with parmesan cheese on top to make it extra nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
So good; so easy. I like how the veggies are cooked separately then combined to finish - this way they don't all turn to mush. I added fresh oregano since I had some on hand. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Great for using up what's in the garden. I omitted thyme (I don't like it) and added some sliced mushrooms. Also used 1 nice garden tomato, as I didn't have any Romas. Served it over brown rice. Will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was tasty. I lightened up on the oil ( used about 2T total) and augmented with vegetable stock. After it was all cooked, I added a little balsamic vinegar.. yum perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
When I saw this recipe, I about jumped for joy at how many vegetables it had. If you don't like eggplant, you won't like this dish, but luckily I do. :-) Just to make it even less fattening, I "healthy sauteed" everything except the onion and garlic, meaning I just barely brushed the bottom of the pan with oil and added water to keep the veggies from sticking. Also: not that you can expect much else when there are this many veggies, but cutting and sauteeing everything took quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Made a huge hit and I'm always asked to bring this dish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
What I like in this recipe is the color and combination of so many vegetables, except the eggplant. I hear that Japanese eggplant is more flavorful and less rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States