Summer Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Nice way to use up cherry tomatoes from the garden! I didn't have ground red pepper, might have gotten a little carried away with red pepper flakes... Didn't have fresh cilantro so I put 1 tablespoon in about 1 tablespoon Olive Oil while chopping my tomatoes. I was also worried about the garlic spreading evenly so I put a couple cloves in a garlic press and added that to the Olive Oil too. I think yummier the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Such a good for you salad with a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It's garden tomato season, and although I have had this recipe since last year, this is the first season I have made it. And made it. And made it. Very popular with my husband, who doesn't heap praise often ( he's told me to make this one Anytime!) my kids and in-laws also loved it. It is now a regular mealtime accompaniment. Amazinlgly simple, incredibly guilt-free, and DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I've been making this tomato salad since I was a girl (long, long ago), the only difference being that I never have used cilantro (soapy, don't like it at all). The one thing I'd add and do add is a good splash of EVOO, and I like to make it earlier in the day so the juices of the tomatoes blend beautifully with the oil, and can be soaked up with a good chunk of Italian bread! On occasion if I didn't have any on hand, I'd use any old onion, or none at all ... still good. Last thought, any tomatoes will do ... don't get stuck on cherries, use what you have. Only reason for the 4 stars is the cilantro ... otherwise, it's a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I left my tomatoes at room temperature and halved the herbs. I also added the juice of one full size tomato combined with the juice of 1 lime and let it macerate at room temperature for an hour before dinner. Very good side dish but it could also stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great easy recipe, nice summer salad. The other reviews are right there is no dressing but in all honesty I didn't think it needed one. I Didn't have a green onion so used a fine sliced red onion in its place and had to sub dry cilantro for the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Oh, yum! These powerful flavors are still exploding in my mouth. I didn’t have yellow tomatoes, but oh well...it was still amazing. Also, I used a tiny bit of finely chopped white onion instead of green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Meine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I loved this simple salad. I did not have yellow pear tomatoes so I omitted it. I made slight change by adding 2 TBS of extra virgin olive oil and about 1tsp of red pepper flakes and I squeezed 1/2 a lemon. Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a wonderful, fresh salad that's perfect for those warm summer months when tomatoes from the garden are so abundant. It's not only vibrant in color but also in taste. I did leave out the cilantro as a personal preference and did NOT refridgerate this. I did however drizzle a little olive oil over top and added just a splash of balsamic vinegar (any nice vinegar would do) which I think made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I added a mix of extra virgin olive oil and balsamic to this salad. Really good. I think the olive oil and balsamic really made this extra tasty. Quick and easy--no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States