Summer Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was simple, delicious, and fresh. I added mozzarella instead of cheddar, and some fresh spinach. We loved it and will make it every time we have a plethora of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisiana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was very good with my garden fresh tomatoes! My sons, 19 and 7 Loved it. Yes, it is juicy but add croutons or bread crumbs in the cheese if you prefer. The wateriness may depend on your tomatoes too!I did add a pesto/garlic seasoning sprinkled between the layers of tomatoes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFChik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
this is delicious! it is, as the other readers said, very wet, but who can complain about summer-tomato juicy-ness with sharp cheddar (yes, use sharp!). we used the home-made mayo recipe here and it was a true taste of summer. i suspect this would also "beef up" the taste of less-than-delicious tomatoes, which unfortunately is sometimes how they come from the grocery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is one of the best ones I have tried!! I will make it again for sure. Only change I made is adding croutons YUMMY!!!!!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The flavor of this dish was very good, but I can only give the recipe a 3 star because when I pulled the pan out of the oven it was half full of watery liquid. It made for a very unappealing presentation. I wonder why no one else had this problem. I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe that result is to be expected, but it ruined the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I used romas and didn't add any salt as my husband is on a very low sodium diet. This was great! Even my 2 kids who only eat tomatoes in ketchup and pizza sauce ate this and loved it...my kindergartener even had seconds! This is a very nice, quick way to use up our abundance of fresh garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
We Loved It!! Was so easy and yummy! I used my Home grown tomatoes. Only thing I did diffrent was I added bacon bits. I will be making this again for sure! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States