Summer Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I'm not a baker, but have been craving a strawberry rhubarb pie, so I gave it a go with a store bought crust. I left it open without a lid/lattice. It was good, but too wet. I think that's my fault; I don't think I mixed the flour through very well. I was also looking for more of the tart flavour from the rhubarb. I will make this again, but will add a little more flour, making sure to mix it through thoroughly. I will also put a bit more rhubarb with a little less strawberry. Overall I was pleased with it, now just need to tweak it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I added some orange peel and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe and found that it was very liquidy. It tasted very good and I will try again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Bergman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I found this very sweet. I would exchange the strawberry and rhubarb totals for a more tart pie. Otherwise it was quite yummy. Instead of flour I used small bead tapioca. It soaks up the moisture without adding flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe was REALLY yummy, but the filling was too much for the pan. It was also very liquid and took extra long to bake. I recommend using 1.5 cups of diced rhubarb with 2 cups hulled strawberries and 1/2 cup flour in the filling. On a side note... I found the "ready to use" frozen doughNfoil sets to be very dry. I recommend making the dough from scratch. You can get a basic dough mix in the cake section of the supermarket and then kneading it by hand. Makes it REALLY special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquelyn Young
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I am a rookie baker and this pie turned out really great! I over did the nutmeg a bit since I didn't pre-measure it (just grated it in the bowl). I followed the advice of one review and combined all the ingredients in a sauce pan over medium heat first to taste and after it cooled I added it to the crust. Also, I brushed a beaten egg and water mix over the top crust before putting it in the oven to assist in getting a golden crust. I was unsure about the whole berries but it worked really well! Overall a very nice recipe and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquelyn Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by britpip
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This pie came out perfectly! The sweetness is just right, though I did skimp on the sugar by about 1/4 cup. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've eaten and made this many times. It always turns out great ang gets a lot of good feed back. So easy to make and so nice for a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
boo hiss, too wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States