Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are very yummy!!! I got my very picky toddler to scarf them down and he was saying yum the whole time. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a bit of garlic and some grated cheddar cheese. Delicious! At this time of year, our garden has us up to our ears in squash. We will be making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Tried these over the weekend and they were wonderful! The only thing I did differenly was cook my onions with the squash (I didn't want crunchy onion pieces in the finished puffs) and added about a half cup or so of a 6 Italian Blend Cheese. Made them with a small cookie scoop (from Pampered Chef) in our Fry Daddy. They were perfect! Hubby raved about how good they were. (And both my mom and mom-in-law asked for the recipe! SCORE!) Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tractorboysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I grew a lot of squash last summer and was looking for recipes to use it up in. I had my doubts about this recipe, but as many people commented favorably, I tried it. I would add more onions and cheese next time and maybe some fresh garlic. The puffs turned out great and I sent some to my neighbors. Normally I do not eat fried foods, but will make an exception for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Excellent! I used Jiffy cornbread mix. Tasted like hushpuppies. My husband ate every last one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These were so good they kinda reminded me of a Hush Puppy, the only thing I would change the next time I make them would be not to put my onion in the food processer and to chop my onion so I would have the crunch of the onion next time but they were good If you don't want the crunch of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Awesome Recipe! I used a small cookie scoop to make the "fritter"-perfect size! Also, I used garlic salt instead of regular salt, and added some shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
THESE WERE VERY GOOD. JUST REMEMBER NOT TO MAKE THEM TOO BIG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Earth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These were enjoyed by the whole family, even the kids. I pureed the cooked squash in my blender, which took care of tough skin problem as well as great measuring cup. I had some left over bacon from breakfast that I chopped up and added in. Only used 1/2 the batter first time I served, then made up the rest next night. I think the dough worked even better after being refrigerated 24 hrs. I also only used tsp. sized portions as suggested by others and they cooked great. Second night I dusted them with parmesan cheese, which was extra yummy! Looking forward to playing with other suggested variations in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't have corn muffin mix, so I used plain corn meal and it was fine. I also added fresh garlic. Be careful to make them smaller though...they tend to be wet inside if they're too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States