Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I added the suggested garlic, also a bit of seasoning salt and extra flower. I only used half the batch the first day and found out that the batter worked much better on day 2! So let the batter sit several hours. I made them small but they were still wet inside. Next time I will remove the liquid after steaming the squash/zucchini & onions. They were actually quite lovely though - crispy outside & fluffy inside, like little clouds that melt on your tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These were very good. My husband normally does not like squash but he ate these. It probably helped that they were fried! My dough was a bit runnier than I expected, so they were more like little blobs instead of rounded puffs. I might use more flour or muffin mix next time so the dough is firmer and hopefully keeps a nice shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The puffs were good, although I felt like it need a sauce for dipping. I did not have corn muffin mix so I used regular corn meal but it still tasted good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These are Yummy!! My husband couldn't stop eating them and the kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Planning these as an appetizer- squeezed the moisture out of the processed squash in a new nubby facecloth but I'm sure you could use cheesecloth.Skipped the cooking of the squash & just sliced it & put each in a mini precessor. Loved the dusting of parmesan on the finished mini cakes- husband said they were too bland without. Now he wants me to buy pancetta to chop into batter next time.Rather than garlic salt, I used bacon salt(but will need more in tomorrow's batch- batter is in the fridge. Did do finely grated cheddar: did saute onion & garlic. The only drawback to this recipe is I thought it a little messy to prepare but worth the cleanup involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were wonderful. My only complaint is that cooking/mashing the squash left the batter too moist (because the squash takes on water, which only gets worse if you boil it too long!), and that in turn made the puffs greasier. My suggestion would be to either add more flour/cornmeal, OR only puree the *raw* squash and use that instead of the cook/mashed squash (use 2 cups of puree just like 2 c. of the mash). I've tried this with zucchini and it worked wonderful. Also, if you want to use something in place of Jiffy cornbread mix: 2 T. of sugar, an extra tsp. of baking powder (3 tsp. total), up the salt by 1/4 tsp. (1 tsp. total), and use 2/3 c. cornmeal (or a cornmeal/white flour mix if that is too "corny" for you).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It is the BOMB!!!!!!!! I love it .....my children loved it and my parents loved it. My neighbor gave us alot of squash...Thank u for sharing the recipe. I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My family loved these!! It was a great way to get them to use the yellow squash that had been multiplying in our refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Add the garlic and cheddar cheese and these are 5 stars all the way if fried up nice and golden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was excellent! It reminds me of how my mom makes her left over mashed potatoes into potatoe cakes. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States