Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Make with any kind of squash. Salt fresh out of oil. Must be very small to cook middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
These are good and pretty easy to make. I think next time I will try them without mashing the squash. I felt like it would be better to have small pieces of the squash in there rather than just mashed and mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Delicious! I added 2/3cup sharp cheddar and sauted my onion before adding it. Will add garlic next time. I like to have mine for breakfast with cheese grits. This will be my staple squash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made these for a BBQ at our house and they got eaten as fast as I could make them! I followed advice from other reviewers and added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the squash mixture and 1/2 tsp garlic salt to the flour mixture. I used a TBSP measuring spoon for dropping into the oil and had no problems cooking all the way through even though I boiled my squash first. This was a great way to use my yellow squash that had grown too large on the vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Not sure what went wrong but these didn't go over very well. Something missing. Seemed like a lot of fuss and I didn't get the flavor I was after. Oh well, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
We absolutely loved this recipe!! I made a few changes. No one in our house likes summer squash so I have to really hide it. I shredded the squash and since I needed some liquid I added about a half cup of water. Batter turned out perfect. I also used Jiffy corn muffin mix and hubby said I could make these anytime:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fan"freakin"task!!! We couldn't wait until each batch was done cooking before tearing into them. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glassman_24k

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I just made these. They are very good. I made the first batch just as the recipe says, then I srarted to have fun. I made a second batch and added different things. I did not peel the squash. I did some with cheddar cheese, red peppers, monteryray jack, very old smoked gouda, and hot peppers. All turned out delious. I then froze some and then let them thaw and heated in the toaster oven. This also turned out good. You can put almost anything in them. My husband wants horesradish in them the next time. These will be on my list for things to make for Christmas entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
These were just ok. We were very excited to try the recipe---it sounded delicious. In the end they were just average and kind of boring. I wouldn't take the time to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Family loved them, I thought they were bland. We will probably make these again, with some of the added suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States