Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I had the same issue as another reviewer had with my squash being a little too watery even after draining it well, but I added a little more of the other dry ingredients. My family loved these! They're a cross between a hush puppy and fritter. I'm going to play around with the veggies and spices to see what fabulous combinations I can come up with. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
We loved these, great way to use up that squash. Cooked squash and put in freezer for future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This was fantastic! I did change a few things. I didn't have any squash so I used zucchini. I used coconut oil and added a little garlic salt and cayenne pepper. I also added some white cheddar cheese. Oh yeah, and I added about a tsp of chipotle pepper sauce. YUMMY My 4yr old love them dipped in honey mustard. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I loved the concept of this dish. My daughter picked it, so I went ahead with it. I made a couple of modifications. Instead of corn muffin mix, I used farina. Since there was a little bit of water left over from when the squash cooked, I added 2/3 cup of bread crumbs just to make sure the water was soaked up. I also added 2 tsp of Mrs. Dash salt-free seasoning just to make sure there was some flavor in the puffs. My whole family enjoyed them very much. My husband eats them with ketchup as a dipping sauce, but loves them as is as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrLuvr130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
In lieu of cornmeal mix, I used 2/3 c. cornmeal, 2 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp. of baking powder (in addition to the 2 tsp.), 1/4 tsp salt (in addition). Instead of regular flour, I used whole wheat flour. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, too. This was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this recipe as described with the exception that I pan fried them; as a result they came out more like a fritter. They were easy to make and tasted great, even cold the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Excellent. I added a pinch of cayenne and we loved it. Great fritters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
this is good. I don't personally like the sweet in the cornmeal mix so I use regular cornmeal and flour. add a packet of dry ranch mix for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very southern, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Outstanding....to die for...couldn't get enough...batter a bit thin so i added in a bit more corn muffin mix....you won't be disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States