Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is an excellent recipe but I do have a sugestion. Add 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt and 3/4 to 1 cup of cheddar cheese. My family and I enjoyed these puffs with squash straight from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Oh my goodness. Made these last night and my boyfriend and I couldn't stop eating them as they came out of the frying pan. I chopped my onion and boiled it with the squash for 10 minutes. Used self-rising flour so I left out the salt and baking powder. These were to die for and I'm already trying to decide what I can do next time to give them a little "kick." You will not be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were wonderful. My only complaint is that cooking/mashing the squash left the batter too moist (because the squash takes on water, which only gets worse if you boil it too long!), and that in turn made the puffs greasier. My suggestion would be to either add more flour/cornmeal, OR only puree the *raw* squash and use that instead of the cook/mashed squash (use 2 cups of puree just like 2 c. of the mash). I've tried this with zucchini and it worked wonderful. Also, if you want to use something in place of Jiffy cornbread mix: 2 T. of sugar, an extra tsp. of baking powder (3 tsp. total), up the salt by 1/4 tsp. (1 tsp. total), and use 2/3 c. cornmeal (or a cornmeal/white flour mix if that is too "corny" for you).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Fantastic!! All 4 of my kids loved them, just be carefull to keep them small, a couple of them made too big were still a little wet in the middle. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
My family loved this recipe! I modified it by using sauteed PictSweet Seasoning Blend in the place of the onion. I also found that the squash peel did not soften adequately after cooking, so I picked as much of it out as I could before adding the dry ingredients. Next time, I will remove the peel before mashing. These puffs were like hushpuppies, leading us to refer to them as "squashpuppies." Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
If I could give this 10 stars I would. I only had dried chopped onions, so I cooked them with the squash and pureed them all together. I took others' advice and added a little garlic powder. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I had planned on taking these to a potluck, so I tried them out on the crew of college age house painters working on my house first. They loved them, so I took them to the potluck. I let my son and his friend each try one in the car and they took a "vote" to eat all the puffs in the car and not even take them in to share. This from a boy who gags on cooked summer squash! I over-rode their vote and got several requests for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is really good! When I made this, I kept all the ingredients exactly the same, but changed a bit of the way they were used. Instead of simmering and mashing the squash, I grated it just like the onion, and then instead of deep frying, just sauteing, with 2 tablespoons of butter. Somewhat like a pancake, loosely speaking. While it isn't puffy like a deep-fried fritter, it was quite good and with a little less in the fat calorie column. The fat content is the only reason I didn't give a full five stars, but that is just a personal thing. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I've tried many Summer squash recipes from this site and this one is a keeper. Fattening I'm sure, but very tasty we thought. I followed another reviewers advice and added garlic powder and 1 c. shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I didn't have enough oil to deep fry this time, so they weren't as puffy and light as I expected, but the flavor was very good. Next time I'll use the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't have corn muffin mix, so I used plain corn meal and it was fine. I also added fresh garlic. Be careful to make them smaller though...they tend to be wet inside if they're too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States