Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I knew what I was getting into when the ingredient list begins with 1 quart of oil. But these little puffs did tend to soak a lot of it up (even with very hot oil), thereby making it a far cry from a healthy snack. That said, I am sure that is not the intent of this recipe. After frying the first batch using the recommended tablespoon, I switched to teaspoons. The recipe yields way too many for a family of two, and I thought smaller ones would make a nicer treat to take to work and share with others. Next time, I would probably up the dry ingredients a bit, as the batter was more like pancake than puff. I gave four stars because they are a guilty but scrumptious pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADAMEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
My family loved this recipe! I modified it by using sauteed PictSweet Seasoning Blend in the place of the onion. I also found that the squash peel did not soften adequately after cooking, so I picked as much of it out as I could before adding the dry ingredients. Next time, I will remove the peel before mashing. These puffs were like hushpuppies, leading us to refer to them as "squashpuppies." Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is an excellent recipe but I do have a sugestion. Add 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt and 3/4 to 1 cup of cheddar cheese. My family and I enjoyed these puffs with squash straight from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Loved this! I am not a vegetable eater and I loved these! The kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBBLE22

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Awesome! We loved this! Served with salmon and spinach! Will definatley make again! Might try adding cheese into the mixture next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
these are like hushpuppies, only better & healthier. we all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
A great recipe. My family will finally eat squash and are still talking about it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Lerandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandera, Texas, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My family loved! Ate so fast I didn't know if everyone would get one. Will definately make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I was torn on the rating for this recipe but gave it a four because my daughter, who normally doesn't care for squash, liked it. (She thought it tasted like pancakes.) However, the recipe didn't do anything for the rest of my family. I normally like squash, but I found it too sweet with the addition of the corn muffin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States