Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Fantastic!! All 4 of my kids loved them, just be carefull to keep them small, a couple of them made too big were still a little wet in the middle. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I made these for my hubby's birthday dinner. They were awesome! Everyone loved them! They taste great! I added some cheese...but other than that I stuck to the recipe. YUM! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I've tried many Summer squash recipes from this site and this one is a keeper. Fattening I'm sure, but very tasty we thought. I followed another reviewers advice and added garlic powder and 1 c. shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were so good! I didn't even think I liked squash--a friend gave me a few so I went to the site and found this recipe. Now I may have to get some more squash because these puffs are addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is wonderful, my whole family loved it!! Now have something to do with all of the squash out of the garden! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I wouldn't change a thing! Except this could be a great way to sneak any vegetable in on picky kids, so I might try substitute another veggie for the squash at a later date. Right now, we're lovin' it just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I knew what I was getting into when the ingredient list begins with 1 quart of oil. But these little puffs did tend to soak a lot of it up (even with very hot oil), thereby making it a far cry from a healthy snack. That said, I am sure that is not the intent of this recipe. After frying the first batch using the recommended tablespoon, I switched to teaspoons. The recipe yields way too many for a family of two, and I thought smaller ones would make a nicer treat to take to work and share with others. Next time, I would probably up the dry ingredients a bit, as the batter was more like pancake than puff. I gave four stars because they are a guilty but scrumptious pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADAMEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
My family loved this recipe! I modified it by using sauteed PictSweet Seasoning Blend in the place of the onion. I also found that the squash peel did not soften adequately after cooking, so I picked as much of it out as I could before adding the dry ingredients. Next time, I will remove the peel before mashing. These puffs were like hushpuppies, leading us to refer to them as "squashpuppies." Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is an excellent recipe but I do have a sugestion. Add 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt and 3/4 to 1 cup of cheddar cheese. My family and I enjoyed these puffs with squash straight from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Loved this! I am not a vegetable eater and I loved these! The kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBBLE22

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States