Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I loved the concept of this dish. My daughter picked it, so I went ahead with it. I made a couple of modifications. Instead of corn muffin mix, I used farina. Since there was a little bit of water left over from when the squash cooked, I added 2/3 cup of bread crumbs just to make sure the water was soaked up. I also added 2 tsp of Mrs. Dash salt-free seasoning just to make sure there was some flavor in the puffs. My whole family enjoyed them very much. My husband eats them with ketchup as a dipping sauce, but loves them as is as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrLuvr130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
In lieu of cornmeal mix, I used 2/3 c. cornmeal, 2 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp. of baking powder (in addition to the 2 tsp.), 1/4 tsp salt (in addition). Instead of regular flour, I used whole wheat flour. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, too. This was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this recipe as described with the exception that I pan fried them; as a result they came out more like a fritter. They were easy to make and tasted great, even cold the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Excellent. I added a pinch of cayenne and we loved it. Great fritters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
this is good. I don't personally like the sweet in the cornmeal mix so I use regular cornmeal and flour. add a packet of dry ranch mix for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very southern, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Outstanding....to die for...couldn't get enough...batter a bit thin so i added in a bit more corn muffin mix....you won't be disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Added a little more muffin mix/flour then pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Yum! Instead of cooking the squash I ended up just microwaving them for a few minutes and then puree in the food processor. I then let it sit in a fine mesh strainer to drain. I strained out about 1 cup of liquid! When I mixed it all together it was perfectly moist and held together well while frying. I added cheese like other suggested and only used corn meal and sugar in place of corn bread mix (didn't have any). Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These are sooooo good! Like potato latkes made from squash! I added a little red pepper to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States