Summer Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a 5 star plus recipe. A sister in law of mine made this several years ago for a holiday dinner. Everyone loved it. I changed it up a bit for this past Thanksgiving dinner. I sauteed the squash instead of boiling it. Instead of sauteed onions I used a can of French's onion rings. Cream of Chicken soup instead of mushroom. Used 1/2 the amount of butter.. I also took the advice from another review and used a box of Chicken flavored stove top stuffing pouring half on the bottom and half on top drizzled with 2 tbsp of melted butter. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Mushy yuck. Unpalatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We really loved this recipe. I took the advice from another reviewer and used Cr. of Chix instead of Cr of Mush. My husband forgot to cover it so the croutons were crunchy which I actually liked. Maybe next time we'll cover it and uncover for apx 15-20 mins at the end. The croutons were kind of big so I will use seasoned stuffing next time. VERY YUMMY! And, in case you are wondering like I was, this was a meal in it of itself ... I didn't know if I needed to serve some meat with it...but this was definitely an entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I'm sorry, but we did not like this. I took one bite and told the hubby and kids they didn't even need to eat their "try it" servings. I wish that I'd just split the squash and baked it with olive oil and seasonings - that would have been a better use of the squash and much more enjoyable. This was soggy bread mixed with melted mozzarella and bland squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My husband gave it 4.64 stars. Ha. So almost 5. I thought this was a very delicious recipe. I will definitely make again. If you use low fat ingredients its a bit healthier (obviously). Creamy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I made some changes. I used yellow squash; only a half stick of butter and mixed the ingredients in a bowl (including the cheese before placing in baking dish. I lightly salted and peppered the top. Easily serves 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My family really liked this! I used shredded zuke (bc thats what I had) and a box of stovetop instead of the crutons and I didnt have the soup so it was sour cream, butter, some water (as called for in the stuffing, but not much bc the zuke will release juice as it cooks) and cheese, in the oven with the ham for an hour. Even Miss Picky ate most of it and said it was sooooo good! Little Mr Picky did also. Thanks for a great way to get a veggie into my unsuspecting family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is quick,easy and very tasty! The only changes I made were to add some pepper,thyme and combination of yellow and zucchini. I may zip up a bit more next time I make it. Looks like we may sufficient squash product from our garden this year. Great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This wasn't a bad recipe but it wasn't what I was expecting in flavor. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Very good casserole. I gave it a 4 because I used herb stuffing mix in place of croutons & added sharp cheddaer cheese along with the mozarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States