Summer Squash Casserole with Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was absolutely perfect. I followed the suggestions of others and did not mash the squash. I used yellow squash, zucchini and a bit of fresh eggplant. I microwaved the squash to soften before adding to the casserole. Added a bit of garlic powder, a handful of dried cranberries and some leftover rice. I used panko crumbs for the topping. I was also pleasantly surprised how great it tasted when reheating the leftovers up to a full week after I made it! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was a hit for my family. I did increase the cheese to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
nobody knew that it was squash...It was a hit at the party!!! The kids were a little upset that they didn't get seconds!!!! The only thing I did change was I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo... I wanted a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I used red bell pepper since green doesn't agree with me. 1st time I made it, I thought the texture/flavor was a little lacking. I thought raisins or currants might be a nice addition. I used raisins next time for sweetness instead of the sugar, chopped the squash into bigger chunks and mashed them less for a more interesting texture, and added all the bread crumbs to the mix instead of leaving any for topping (oops). It was great! The little pops of sweetness and the texture of the nuts and squash were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made it today for father's day as the recipe stated and was pleasantly surprised. It looked kinda weird when I mashed up the squash, but the end product was yummy! Will make it again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made according to recipe - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I used a flavored garlic and herbs mayo and bacon bits instead of salt. I didn't have any pecans so I used slivered almonds. I sprinkled panko bread crumbs on top for extra crunch. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very nice. I would have never thought to add nuts but they work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I want more reciipes from this southern mother in law because this is the best recipe I've found on this website!!! Everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Love this recipe, easy to make. I did end up caramalizing the onions, adding red peppers much sweeter and laying out the squash for 2 hours with salt to sweat, used pinenuts roast them first on a pan. I will make this recipe again my husband love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loverrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highland, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States