Summer Squash Casserole with Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marvelousme
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was my first time making as well as tasting squash casserole and it was awesome! I made a few changes. Instead of mayo I used light sour cream. I added mushrooms, and did not add any nuts. I cooked the squash and onions together before baking, but I did not cook them until they we completely soft. I cooked them until about 75% done, then I mixed as instructed and placed in a casserole dish. It was lovely. I cant wait to let my friends and family try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Okay, so I omitted the nuts and sugar. I also cooked this in the microwave. Here is what I did...I cut the summer squash into 1/4 size slices then placed them in a covered casserole and microwaved on high for 3 minutes. I then added 1/8 cup of butter onion and red bell pepper(green does not work in my family). I placed the covered casserole dish back in the microwave and cooked on high for an additional 2 minutes. I mixed the egg and mayo together and the folded it into the vegetable mixture. Once the mayo/egg combo was mixed in I added 3/4 cup fresh whole grain bread crumbs. This was topped with the cheddar cheese covered and cooked in the microwave for 4 minutes, then allowed to stand for 3 minutes. I garnished with crushed red pepper flakes and shredded Parmesan. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was absolutely perfect. I followed the suggestions of others and did not mash the squash. I used yellow squash, zucchini and a bit of fresh eggplant. I microwaved the squash to soften before adding to the casserole. Added a bit of garlic powder, a handful of dried cranberries and some leftover rice. I used panko crumbs for the topping. I was also pleasantly surprised how great it tasted when reheating the leftovers up to a full week after I made it! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was a hit for my family. I did increase the cheese to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
nobody knew that it was squash...It was a hit at the party!!! The kids were a little upset that they didn't get seconds!!!! The only thing I did change was I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo... I wanted a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I used red bell pepper since green doesn't agree with me. 1st time I made it, I thought the texture/flavor was a little lacking. I thought raisins or currants might be a nice addition. I used raisins next time for sweetness instead of the sugar, chopped the squash into bigger chunks and mashed them less for a more interesting texture, and added all the bread crumbs to the mix instead of leaving any for topping (oops). It was great! The little pops of sweetness and the texture of the nuts and squash were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made it today for father's day as the recipe stated and was pleasantly surprised. It looked kinda weird when I mashed up the squash, but the end product was yummy! Will make it again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Sherman
Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made according to recipe - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I used a flavored garlic and herbs mayo and bacon bits instead of salt. I didn't have any pecans so I used slivered almonds. I sprinkled panko bread crumbs on top for extra crunch. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very nice. I would have never thought to add nuts but they work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States