Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I had made a squash soup that I was not excited with, so I quickly turned it into this bread, which was wonderful! I cut the sugar in half (just used one cup) and it was plenty sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I use nutmeg and less cinnamon. This bread is outstanding. What a great way to use up Summer Squash from my garden. I always use applesauce in lieu of most of the oil. So much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kazma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Conklin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I divided the recipe into 10 servings instead of 16, and added the seeds from one medium pomegranate. I also cut the sugar way down and added a dash of honey and used only melted butter. Oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a wonderful way to use up the squash in the garden. Soft and almost sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made several modifications in making this recipe-cut the sugar to 1 1/2 c, using half white and half brown sugar, I also used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 AP Flour as well as using 1/2 unsweetened apple sauce in place of 1/2 the oil (all attempts at making the recipe a bit healthier!) I wish that I would have cut the nutmeg down to 1tsp, as it was a bit overpowering, and I like nutmeg! Next time I may add a 1/2 tsp of salt or so, just seemed like something was missing. I never made the recipe 'as is', so my rating is for the final product after the modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Somehow I thought that summer squash would work exactly like zucchini and that this would essentially be just like zucchini bread - but it really was not. I guess I also have found that with zucchini bread, you can "play around" with the amount of zucchini and have a moister or less dense bread. This recipe felt less "forgiving" with the amount of summer squash. Like other reviewers, I thought it was somewhat dry. It also seemed to "dry out" sitting on the counter over the afternoon in a way that zucchini bread does not. All in all, interesting experiment with summer squash bread! I think I'll stick with zucchini, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was a terrible disappointment. It was rather bland and had WAY too much nutmeg for my taste. Seemed like the recipe was missing something - salt maybe? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This smelled so delicious while I was mixing it I could have eaten it then! I did make a few changes... I subbed 1/2 butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce for the oil, used 1 3/4 cups of sugar, and I just added a dash of nutmeg rather than the whole 2 teaspoons but other than that I made as is w/ yellow squash from my garden. This tasted good, but was too sweet for me (and I love my sweets!). If I made this again I don't think id use any more than 1 cup of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I would make the suggestion on reducing the sugar to one cup and one cup honey, that will keep it really moist, everyone will ask how it stays so moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I'm so happy I found a recipe to use the buckets & buckets of yellow crookneck squash I keep picking! It was moist, sweet & yummy! It would be even better with a sweet glaze or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States