Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
These recipe was so easy but I add 1 cup of walnuts....it was a hit with my family....and easy way to use up the extra yellow squash....love the taste of nutmeg and cinnamon.....will be making it again over the years....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I really liked the recipe - only change I made was use 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil instead of 1 cup oil...next time - I would add more cinnamon... I thought it needed a little more spice - made in 2 loaf pans and came out so moist - took 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Combined two suggestions from above and used half applesauce & half oil and it came out so moist! Cut the sugar back to just 1 1/4 cup. Also sprinkled the top with a little brown sugar to get a sticky crust. Got raves from everyone. Definitely goes in the "keepers" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I switched it around a bit like some of the other reviewers did, and it turned out great. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, 1 Tbsp vanilla, 1/2 c. veg oil + 1/2 c. applesauce, and only 1 tsp nutmeg. I agree with another comment that said they might up the cinnamon next time, it could have used more. I baked them in the large muffin tins, which took 28 minutes to cook. It made 12 big muffins. They turned out nice and moist and had a nice texture. I think they would have been even better with some walnuts or pecans added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome. I would cut down on the nutmeg and cinnamon next time, but this still came out great. I made it as bread and as muffins. The bread I had to cook much longer than 45 min until a knife came out clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good. A bit spicy, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I made it and then made another by adding 1/2c applesauce and removing 1/2c oil and 1/2c sugar. I also added a crumble topping. Crumble Topping 1/2c Brown Sugar, 1/3c Flour, 2tsp Cinnamon and 2tsp Butter. I put crumble on bottom of pan. Flip out on a cookie sheet when cooked so the crumble stays on better. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I had an overabundance of yellow squash in my garden this year and needed a way to use it up. I have made zucchini bread before but never tried yellow squash in the same way. This recipe was simple to put together. The only change I made was to substitute half the oil for applesauce to cut some calories and fat. Unfortunately the flavor of this cake/bread was really bland. I think it needed salt and something else to bump up the flavor. This would be a good dessert for kids or anyone who doesn't like veggies though. You can't taste the squash at all and because it is yellow and not green like zucchini, you wouldn't know there were veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was delicious. I did lessen the sugar and nutmeg as suggested and only had 1/4 cup of oil, so melted a stick of butter to make up the difference. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
2 teaspoons is WAY too much nutmeg. It overpowered the other flavors. I would recommend a half-tsp at the most, plus the cinnamon. Also, I halved the sugar and added semisweet chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States