Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made a dozen muffins. I used two eggs, replaced all the oil with unsweetened applesauce, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, kept the full amount of cinnamon and reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp like others suggested. They were very light and fluffy. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
EXCELLENT!! THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVES IT!! GREAT WITH MORNING COFFEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family loved this. I did alter a little by adding choc chips and chopped walnuts. We loved it so much and we have an ever bearing squash plant this year, that I will be making and freezing these yummy loaves for enjoyment throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My family loved this! Great way to use all of the summer squash from our garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I didn't have enough flour on hand so I used 3cups of baking mix and omitted the leavening and salt. I used a half cup of veg oil and half cup of applesauce to help lighten it and retain the moisture. Oops! Always scoop out the seeds from the squash before grating! I was picking out seeds for 5 minutes before I measured the grated squash. I also put chocolate chips on half and pushed them into the batter in the pan before baking. Blueberries would be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
A really good recipe! And a great way to use up all that squash from the garden. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made the recipe in muffin pans, cooking them for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was way to sweet and I even cut back the sugar by 1/2 a cup. Also it turned out a little dry and heavy. I will find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
9 x 13 loaf pan. No. Everybody substituting one thing or the other confusing. Follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Due to friends giving us an abundance of squash, I searched for recipes to use it up quickly and found this one. I halved the recipe and baked it in a normal size loaf pan. To healthy it up a little more, I used coconut oil, evaporated cane juice and whole wheat pastry flour. I made it today and tried a piece and I'm pretty sure I heard angels singing when I tasted it! A really wonderful quick bread and great way to use summer squash. I think the cinnamon and nutmeg are really what sends it over the top! I may make more and freeze to give as gifts during the holidays. Definitely a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Better than any zucchini bread I've ever made. Moist, full of flavor, and a very pretty bread! As written it is very good, but the nutmeg is strong and the bake time was a little long for a 9 x 13 pan. Second time I made it I reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. and used a full tablespoon of cinnamon because I just love cinnamon that much. I replaced 1/2 of the oil with applesauce to reduce the fat and 1/2 of the flour with white whole wheat flour, and baked for 40 minutes. I drizzled a little bit of a powdered sugar & milk glaze (not necessary, just made a pretty presentation) It was even better with the modifications and my fiance' loved it. A great way to use up the abundance of squash I am getting out of my garden. I froze a ton of shredded summer squash in 2 cup portions so I could make this at holiday time for gifts. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States