Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was an excellent (melt in your mouth) recipe. However, I replaced most of the oil with apple sauce. This also allowed me to cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup. I had to cook it longer also because of the apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
A great way to use up extra summer squash. I peeled the bumpy outer skin off and removed the seeds. I did not bake this in a 9x13 pan. The first time I baked it in two loaf pans, the second time I made muffins (bake 20 min.)! I also did not add any nutmeg. To make this even better add a crumb topping: 1 C. brown sugar, 3/4 C. flour, 2 tsp. cinamon, 1/4 C. butter. Mix together and put on top of loafs or muffins. SO GOOD! Even my 2 and 4 year old love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This recipe makes good use of summer squash. I agree with previous reviewers about the nutmeg; I only used 1/4 tsp because 2 tsps would've been too strong for my taste--I might even add more cinnamon next time. I adjusted the recipe by using 1-1/2 cups sugar and I melted a stick of butter & used that plus 1/4 cup oil, instead of 1 cup oil. I think the baking time is a little on the far side, because mine was a little dry. However the bread has a nice texture and good flavor. Thanks for a great idea Unforgetable; I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Delicious! Had a bunch of summer squash, so found this recipe! Added pecans and sliced almonds, and also sprinked top with brown sugar which carmelized during baking...added a bit more sweetness...a huge hit...made another batch the next day! Great way to eat that menacing veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is an excellent recipe for all that extra summer squash. As a guy, I made this recipe on a Sunday night. It turned out great. I took it to work the next day. IT WAS A SMASH HIT. It disappeared so fast (I should have made 2). I did take some of the other's suggestions (i.e. less sugar, nutmeg). The bread was not too sweet and had a wonderful taste. Definitely will make it again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
really good, but I think it's a little too sweet. next time I will cut back on the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good recipe! I read all the reviews before making it. I cut back to 1 1/2 cups of sugar, 3/4 cup of oil, added 3 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, added 1/2 tsp salt. I had enough for 2 med loaf pans and 2 mini pans. I baked the minis on 350 for 30 minutes and the larger loafs for 45 minutes. Before baking I also mixed a crumb topping of 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 TBS flour, 1/4 tsp cinn, and 1 TBS cold butter. It was just enough for the recipe. My family loved it!! I probably will not be giving too much squash away anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I have to give this a top rating. I made it myself.Instead of making my usual bread for Thanksgiving, I now have to make 5 of these and I don"t even like squash. This is excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Loved it! My husband and 4 year old son loved it too. Plus it freezes well. I was looking for a variety of ways to use squash since we have a small garden. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Everyone at work loved this recipe. It is a way to use some of the ton of squash I have from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States