Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great bread! I was worried it would be dry but it turned out great. I didn't have enough rhubarb so I used 1 apple. Also, only used 1 1/3 c. of white sugar. Next time I think I'll use some banana or apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Holy oil, Batman! I was very skeptical at putting an entire cup of oil in these (I made muffins) but since I didn't have any applesauce and didn't feel like making my own or cruising to the store, I took a deep breath, closed my eyes, and poured it in contributing to America's heart disease problem. Since I made muffins they only had to bake about 20 minutes. I am VERY pleasantly surprised! They are wonderful! And I figure if I don't eat the entire batch (I'm going to give some away), go to the gym twice a day every day for the next week I should be good. I will definitely be making these again but this time I will cut the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Fantastic! A great way to use up all that yellow squash that pops up in the garden come July/August. I sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good! I went with 2 large squash and grated one coarse and one fine. Came in a little under 2 cups so I mashed a banana and added that in for some extra flavor. Did 2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat and lessened the sugar. I poured into 2 bread pans (one loaf would have been small) and then topped with a crumble recipe I saw in the other comments. After in the oven for a few minutes I read another review that stated that they did not cook well as loaves. I removed them, scraped off the crumbs, retopped and then cooked in a 9x12 as recommended. The crumbs were a little mixed through and it. After all of that, it came out great!! Will make again, just will start with the proper pan from the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HauntedHollow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Nice, delicately flavored bread. I made as directed except for decreasing the nutmeg to 1/2 t. and baking in two loaf pans. A great way to use up our bumper crop of summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I had to play with the recipe a bit because I cut it back by half. I didn't want to use half of an egg, what I did was use two eggs but cut back on the oil by a couple tablespoons. I also used half homemade applesauce in place of the vegetable oil. I made muffins out of this recipe, I was able to get 12 smallish muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done in 20 minutes. This is a good base recipe but for us, it needs more spices as it didn't have much flavor. Very similar to zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Made this over the weekend to use up an abundance of gifted summer squash. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups and did half applesauce, half canola oil. I also used half whole wheat and half ap flour....just a couple of healthier changes. I thought the nutmeg flavor was a little strong, but I'm not a big nutmeg fan. Hubby and kids both loved the bread, so I made again in muffin tins for dd to pack with school lunches in the fall (just froze the finished product). Thank you for sharing a great baked option to use up summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a great way to use yellow squash, but it's a bit too sweet for my taste. However my husband, who has a huge sweet tooth, thought it was fine, as is. For my taste, I would cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 C. next time. It made 1 8" loaf & 2 mini-loaves. The cooking time was a bit longer (I lost track of how much-sorry). I used the full amt of nutmeg, & cinnamon; otherwise I suspect it'd be too bland? I did NOT peel the squash as 1 reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
yummy! my kids love it and i can't stop eating it. i did use many of the reviews to substitute things like 1/2 c oil & 8 oz applesauce, 1 c sugar & 1/2 c brown sugar, 1.5 c whole wheat flour & 1/2 c all purpose flour. thanks for all the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but the instructions were goofy. I poured it into a 8"x4" loaf pan and it ended up overflowing in the oven. That being said, the resulting loaf was very tasty though I had to add 20 minutes cooking time to get the loaf baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States