Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Somehow I thought that summer squash would work exactly like zucchini and that this would essentially be just like zucchini bread - but it really was not. I guess I also have found that with zucchini bread, you can "play around" with the amount of zucchini and have a moister or less dense bread. This recipe felt less "forgiving" with the amount of summer squash. Like other reviewers, I thought it was somewhat dry. It also seemed to "dry out" sitting on the counter over the afternoon in a way that zucchini bread does not. All in all, interesting experiment with summer squash bread! I think I'll stick with zucchini, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was a terrible disappointment. It was rather bland and had WAY too much nutmeg for my taste. Seemed like the recipe was missing something - salt maybe? I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This smelled so delicious while I was mixing it I could have eaten it then! I did make a few changes... I subbed 1/2 butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce for the oil, used 1 3/4 cups of sugar, and I just added a dash of nutmeg rather than the whole 2 teaspoons but other than that I made as is w/ yellow squash from my garden. This tasted good, but was too sweet for me (and I love my sweets!). If I made this again I don't think id use any more than 1 cup of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I would make the suggestion on reducing the sugar to one cup and one cup honey, that will keep it really moist, everyone will ask how it stays so moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I'm so happy I found a recipe to use the buckets & buckets of yellow crookneck squash I keep picking! It was moist, sweet & yummy! It would be even better with a sweet glaze or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this for work and received several compliments! I made a few adjustments to it though. I replaced most of the oil with applesauce, added lots pf chopped walnuts and dried cranberries, and divided it into two loaf pans, baking it just over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was delicious. However, I added some salt as I never saw a recipe that used baking powder and no salt. I also only used 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I am wondering how the loaf pan would work - it is pictured - and I was tempted to try it but stuck to the 9 x 13 pan. I also used 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda ! ...will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This makes 2 - 8x4 loaves. This also takes more than 45 min. - more like an 55-60. I added some blueberries and decreased the sugar just slightly and this was good - not great - hence the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great bread! I was worried it would be dry but it turned out great. I didn't have enough rhubarb so I used 1 apple. Also, only used 1 1/3 c. of white sugar. Next time I think I'll use some banana or apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Holy oil, Batman! I was very skeptical at putting an entire cup of oil in these (I made muffins) but since I didn't have any applesauce and didn't feel like making my own or cruising to the store, I took a deep breath, closed my eyes, and poured it in contributing to America's heart disease problem. Since I made muffins they only had to bake about 20 minutes. I am VERY pleasantly surprised! They are wonderful! And I figure if I don't eat the entire batch (I'm going to give some away), go to the gym twice a day every day for the next week I should be good. I will definitely be making these again but this time I will cut the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States