Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
i added 1 cup of shredded apples and I cut the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup milk, I baked in a loaf pan, about 1 hour and 10 min,till a toothpick came out clean.also reduced the nutmeg by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Love this recipe! I only used 1 tsp. of the nutmeg (2 tsp. seems like a LOT of nutmeg) and I used about a tablespoon of cinnamon. I also added cinnamon chips to the batter and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the tops of the loaves before baking. I baked in 2 loaf pans for somewhere around 65 minutes. Whole family loved. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Very good. Like other reviewers, I substituted applesauce for the oil and cut back the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon. I also added walnuts. Next time I think I will cut back the nutmeg a little more I think. It did take between 5 and 10 min. longer than bake time noted to finishing baking, probably because of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I cut the sugar and oil called for by half, and added a splash of soy milk. I also replaced 1 c of flour with oats. Delicious, and a great use of my extra squash from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is by far the best recipe for a bread. It is so light. I made it in two loaf pans and sprinkled some strussel topping. I am going to try it again with 2 cups of wild blueberries instead of the squash. I have been baking for over 30 years and this is the best! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Very good bread. Great way to use up crook neck squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was really good and moist. My whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I came to this recipe in an unusual way. I was given 2 fairly large spaghetti squash. I found a recipe on AR called Sweet and Easy Spaghetti Squash. I cooked it per the directions, only realizing halfway thru the process that, although I saw the recipe called for brown sugar it wasn't listed in the ingredients list and the quantity wasn't noted. I added some brown sugar, just guessing at an amount. On removing the squash from the oven I tasted it and it was bitter and not at all what I expected. I added more brown sugar and chopped up 2 apples I had on hand and baked for additional time. Still not good. I refrigerated overnight and had a flash of inspiration to use the squash/apple combination in a quick bread. That was what brought me to this recipe. I only used 1 cup of sugar since it already had brown sugar in it. I cut the oil to a quarter of a cup since other reviewers suggested that. Added a half cup applesauce, a half cup Greek yogurt and chopped pecans. I made a streusel topping before baking and baked in 1 9 x 5 pan and 1 8 x 4 pan. Wow, it turned out great and I was able to salvage the failed spaghetti squash and apple dish! Additional note: the spaghetti squash recipe has since been corrected if you are curious to look that one up, the brown sugar is now listed in the ingredients. So, I guess I am really not reviewing this recipe per se since I changed it so much, but it does show how versatile the recipe can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made muffins instead of bread for an on the go snack and school lunches. Was a tiny bit short on squash so I grated about 1/2 cup of apple to make up the difference. Used whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the total flour amount called for and the rest all purpose. Used all applesauce instead of oil and reduced nutmeg by 1/2 tsp. sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top before baking at recommended temp for 20-25 minutes. Totally fantastic - everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This bread was perfect AS IS. It's very light, moist and fluffy - not too sweet and I didn't think the nutmeg was overpowering at all as some reviewers thought. The only change that I made was that I baked it in 2 loaf pans and increased the baking time to 55 minutes. My kids, husband and mom LOVED it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States