Summer Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but the instructions were goofy. I poured it into a 8"x4" loaf pan and it ended up overflowing in the oven. That being said, the resulting loaf was very tasty though I had to add 20 minutes cooking time to get the loaf baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This bread is a great way to put the excess crookneck or summer quash in your garden to use. This is my second time making it in a week and this time I added a handful of chopped strawberries. I love the extra zing and color that adds. Very easy and very tasty recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I was VERY disappointed with this bread. With all of the rave reviews I followed it to a "t" and the end result was a moist bread with almost ZERO flavor. Sorry, but this is not a recipe I will be repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
didn't change any of the ingredients. The only thing I did was sprinkled the top with brown sugar and pecans per another users suggestion. Fabulous. I will make these up and freeze them since we have summer squash coming out of our ears right now! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
It was moist and delicious but I'm reviwing the ease of directions and overall recipe for its ease in makeing substitutions based on what I had available. I used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon as I ran out of cinnamon. 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar for less sweet and more flavor. 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce. Used 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as most reviews suggest and am glad I did. Also added 1 teaspoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
After reading the other reviews, I modified the recipe in the following ways: reduced white sugar to 1 1/4 cups; substituted 1 c veg oil for 1/2 c veg oil and 1/2 c applesauce; reduced nutmeg to 1 1/2 tsp. Also I only used 1 c shredded summer squash with 1 c mashed overripe bananas, and I sprinkled brown sugar on top. This made it more of a banana-squash hybrid bread, and it was denser than regular banana or zucchini bread, but still tasty. It's almost like a breakfast bread or coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a great way to use up my summer squash. I used 1/2 cup oil and 8 oz. of "natural" applesauce. I also used only 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It was still moist and tasty. I also added a little cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was pretty good. I also decreased the amount of nutmeg and a little less than 1tsp was plenty. I read other reviews saying that the baking time was too long. I cooked it maybe 10 extra minutes, continually checking it (checking to see if toothpick came out clean every few minutes). When it was finally done after careful monitoring, it was a good bread, but kind of dry and nothing really special. If I hadn't sprinkled walnuts and brown sugar on top before baking, I think this would've been still good, but pretty boring. Lesson learned: Squash certainly works in bread, but doesn't pack much punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I follwed the previous advice, cut down on the nutmeg, used 1/2c less sugar, 3/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c oil. I used 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 c plain all-purpose. I also made a topping with quick cooking oats and brown sugar. My kids have already eaten all but 4 of the muffins and I took them out of the oven an hour ago. This was a great way to sneak some veggies into their "I don't eat that" diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very nice! A bunch of squash was given to us and i had no idea how to use it up so i tried this. I followed the advice and sprinkled the top with br. sugar before it baked and we found it very nice. I told the kids it was coffee cake and they knew no different. I think i will definately put a crumb topping on this next time i have squash to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States