Summer Squash and Onion Cheesy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
My boyfriend made this exactly as written and found it rather bland. I thought the onions overpowered the veggies and cheese. If we make this again, we will cut the onions in rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This was just okay for me. I really didn't enjoy the sweetness of the condensed milk mixed in with my veggies and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Vegetables took forever to cook. I put it in for a lot longer than the recipe stated, and even tried to cook it longer after I had put it away in the fridge for the night. I wanted to like this, it was just too blah. Don't know what spices I would use, but it definitely needs something more. Probably won't make this again. Too much work for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I liked this a lot, very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Ussery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
One word to describe this recipe: DELICIOUS! It was very easy and very tasty and I will make it many many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
With a very minor change this was great! Following another reviewer's suggestion, I sauteed the squash with the onion, and it was fantastic. I was a little concerned about the condensed milk, so I drizzled it lightly off of a spoon onto the top of the cheese layers. I'm not sure that I used quite the amount called for, but it added just the right touch of sweetness for our family. Thanks for another great summer garden recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
It was good but in the future I will cook the onions ahead of time as they came out a bit on the crunchy side. I will also up the temp as at 350 for 30 mins, it didn't brown and there was a little too much liquid. I may also leave the skin on as it is a little monochromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Good, but I think next time I would mix the onions throughout. An easy way to eat vegetables that aren't my favorites other ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is one of my all time favorites! I actually use more butter and sweetened condensed milk than the "official" version calls for, but it is a matter of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleman Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
It is a nice alternative to cheesy hashbrowns, but it lacked a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States