Summer Squash and Onion Cheesy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
My boyfriend made this exactly as written and found it rather bland. I thought the onions overpowered the veggies and cheese. If we make this again, we will cut the onions in rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This was just okay for me. I really didn't enjoy the sweetness of the condensed milk mixed in with my veggies and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Vegetables took forever to cook. I put it in for a lot longer than the recipe stated, and even tried to cook it longer after I had put it away in the fridge for the night. I wanted to like this, it was just too blah. Don't know what spices I would use, but it definitely needs something more. Probably won't make this again. Too much work for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I liked this a lot, very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Ussery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
One word to describe this recipe: DELICIOUS! It was very easy and very tasty and I will make it many many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
With a very minor change this was great! Following another reviewer's suggestion, I sauteed the squash with the onion, and it was fantastic. I was a little concerned about the condensed milk, so I drizzled it lightly off of a spoon onto the top of the cheese layers. I'm not sure that I used quite the amount called for, but it added just the right touch of sweetness for our family. Thanks for another great summer garden recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
It was good but in the future I will cook the onions ahead of time as they came out a bit on the crunchy side. I will also up the temp as at 350 for 30 mins, it didn't brown and there was a little too much liquid. I may also leave the skin on as it is a little monochromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Good, but I think next time I would mix the onions throughout. An easy way to eat vegetables that aren't my favorites other ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is one of my all time favorites! I actually use more butter and sweetened condensed milk than the "official" version calls for, but it is a matter of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleman Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
It is a nice alternative to cheesy hashbrowns, but it lacked a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States