Summer Soup of Butternut and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
We liked this one a lot. It was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is such a great recipe! I'm always looking for recipes for butternut squash and let's just say this is a keeper. Made it as is and didn't change a thing and it is just delicious! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimber477
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I really want to thank you "The Butterfly" for this!!! I just finished making it!!! We love it so much! Most Squash soups want you to add cinnamon or sugars, it just does not taste good to me, and I almost gave up on thinking I would like Squash soup. I did do a couple things different because I did not have everything stated. I used 1 can Chicken Stock and then ½ a can of water. I doubled the garlic, as we love garlic. I thought it needed to be thicker so I cooked a large potato in the microwave, then cut it up & added it to the soup. That did the trick. Next time I will know to add it with the squash. Oh, I did add some fresh ground sea salt that hit the spot for us. I mashed everything with a potato masher. I did not add to the blender to make it smooth, as after tasting it we liked the texture of how it turned out. It was great as it was & I was not going to add the Nutmeg & Yogurt (I used Sour Cream as I hate Yogurt) but I decided to try a small amount in a bowl to see how it would taste. Well, needles to say but WOW!!! I did not think this could get any better but I was so wrong!!! It tied all the flavors together and it was so AWSOME!!! Again, THANK YOU!!! THIS IS 10 STARS FOR US!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber477

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband, who is a vegetarian loved this. My butternut squash was a little pale so I added two sweet potatoes to the soup. Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I love this soup! I add 2 sweet potatoes and use sour cream instead of yogurt. I also just use chicken broth. Soooo good. It reminds me of Fall though, not Summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The corn adds a nice touch to this soup. I used milk instead of the yogurt and it was still very nice. I don't like to peel squash so I just baked it first then scooped it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Medart
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Love, love, love this soup. This recipe was easy to make vegan holistic. I did not use any oil or milk and it still came out great. My toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! My husband loved it as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Delicious! I left out the yogurt and the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was really good. Maybe a little too peppery for my taste but it was very good. Next time I make this I will definitely only add 1/2 the pepper required though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States