Summer Soup of Butternut and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This soup was really good.I really enjoyed it though instead of adding yoghut and nutmeg I just added abit of fresh milk to the butternut and corn mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimber477
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I really want to thank you "The Butterfly" for this!!! I just finished making it!!! We love it so much! Most Squash soups want you to add cinnamon or sugars, it just does not taste good to me, and I almost gave up on thinking I would like Squash soup. I did do a couple things different because I did not have everything stated. I used 1 can Chicken Stock and then ½ a can of water. I doubled the garlic, as we love garlic. I thought it needed to be thicker so I cooked a large potato in the microwave, then cut it up & added it to the soup. That did the trick. Next time I will know to add it with the squash. Oh, I did add some fresh ground sea salt that hit the spot for us. I mashed everything with a potato masher. I did not add to the blender to make it smooth, as after tasting it we liked the texture of how it turned out. It was great as it was & I was not going to add the Nutmeg & Yogurt (I used Sour Cream as I hate Yogurt) but I decided to try a small amount in a bowl to see how it would taste. Well, needles to say but WOW!!! I did not think this could get any better but I was so wrong!!! It tied all the flavors together and it was so AWSOME!!! Again, THANK YOU!!! THIS IS 10 STARS FOR US!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber477

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a simple and tasty use of in-season veg. I used fresh corn cut off the cob, and a fresh squash from the farmer's market. I used fresh basil, as I had no dried. I also added some spices; cayenne, cumin, and a little nutmeg. I did not use a blender or mixer, but just let it simmer longer, then mushed up the squash, so it was still a little chunky. Before serving I threw in some beet greens, as I needed to use them up, a dollop of whole milk yogurt (Stoneyfield's "cream top" is so good!), and a dash of paprika and a basil leaf for presentation. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dordee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The corn adds a nice touch to this soup. I used milk instead of the yogurt and it was still very nice. I don't like to peel squash so I just baked it first then scooped it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Medart
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! My husband loved it as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I love this soup! I add 2 sweet potatoes and use sour cream instead of yogurt. I also just use chicken broth. Soooo good. It reminds me of Fall though, not Summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Delicious! I left out the yogurt and the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
A little heavy on the pepper, but otherwise wonderful! I used fat free half and half instead of yogurt and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made this soup without the corn and it still came out well. I did substitute cinnamon for nutmeg. also added one granny smith apple and pureed that along with the squash. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was really good. Maybe a little too peppery for my taste but it was very good. Next time I make this I will definitely only add 1/2 the pepper required though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States