Summer Soup of Butternut and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Excellent and easy. I had everything in the kitchen including fresh corn. My butternut squash was big, so I had to double the veg broth, and added the steamed corn after I had puréed the squash. Will sprinkle a little cayenne pepper on the top when I serve. My kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is such a great recipe! I'm always looking for recipes for butternut squash and let's just say this is a keeper. Made it as is and didn't change a thing and it is just delicious! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Love, love, love this soup. This recipe was easy to make vegan holistic. I did not use any oil or milk and it still came out great. My toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband, who is a vegetarian loved this. My butternut squash was a little pale so I added two sweet potatoes to the soup. Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was really good. Maybe a little too peppery for my taste but it was very good. Next time I make this I will definitely only add 1/2 the pepper required though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I loved this recipe. I totally agree that it is more of a winter vs. a summer type soup. Although, my children hated this. I am pretty good at making things kid friendly and my kids aren't terribly picky anyway. It is more of a grown up taste. It was not kid approved. I will try again with variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! My husband loved it as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
A little heavy on the pepper, but otherwise wonderful! I used fat free half and half instead of yogurt and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a simple and tasty use of in-season veg. I used fresh corn cut off the cob, and a fresh squash from the farmer's market. I used fresh basil, as I had no dried. I also added some spices; cayenne, cumin, and a little nutmeg. I did not use a blender or mixer, but just let it simmer longer, then mushed up the squash, so it was still a little chunky. Before serving I threw in some beet greens, as I needed to use them up, a dollop of whole milk yogurt (Stoneyfield's "cream top" is so good!), and a dash of paprika and a basil leaf for presentation. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dordee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The corn adds a nice touch to this soup. I used milk instead of the yogurt and it was still very nice. I don't like to peel squash so I just baked it first then scooped it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Medart
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States