Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
First had this 10 years ago at an office party. Loved it and was so glad to find the recipe. Exactly like I remembered it. Really tasty, perfectly seasoned. My picky husband and son loved it so that is saying something! My husband wants me to try it again using half venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. I double it and make five logs as the recipe states and add extra cayenne and pepper flakes to the other five logs batch. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Oh my goodness. I can't believe how easy this is to make and how wonderful it tastes. Thank you for this recipe. I took 3 logs to Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner and there was none left. My brother was asking me to make some with some deer meat he had. I will be making a lot of this and putting it in my freezer for a quick snack for unexpected guests. I bought 10 pounds of hamburger to make some so I would have it for New Year's Eve. I think I will add jalepenos to one batch. Thanks again for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This recipe is awesome! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. The whole family love it. I changed nothing about it. It smells so good I almost hated waiting the 3 days, but do it because it is definetly worth it. Thanks so Much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Argillite, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I have made this at least 10 times and it is easy and very tasty. Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fabulous!!! I followed the recipe exactly, Think I may crank up the spice next time, But otherwise it was Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Ehrhardt Griswold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is almost exactly like the summer sausage that has been handed down to me by my grandparents. It is the best sausage I have ever eaten! Our recipe uses garlic salt instead of garlic powder and has 1/2 teaspoon of black peppercorns per pound of meat. It is really good when made with ground turkey too. That is the way I usually make it these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokpochica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I used a very good quality of beef, 100% home raised angus. The sausage turned out great! Next time I will experiment with more spices, possibly adding a little more red pepper for an additional kick. I think I will also try adding some venison for a gamier flavor. All in all...good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
THANK YOU for this recipe! Everyone loved it. I will be making this often. I used deer this time but will try beef for the next batch. I doubled the liquid smoke and added about 3 teaspoons of peppercorns. I omitted the cayenne pepper just because I couldn't find it at the store. For the curing salt I used Mortons tender quick. I cooked them in my roasting pan. That worked perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States