Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very tasty! Everyone I gave the finished product to loved the taste. It's a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fabulous!!! I followed the recipe exactly, Think I may crank up the spice next time, But otherwise it was Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Ehrhardt Griswold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I used a very good quality of beef, 100% home raised angus. The sausage turned out great! Next time I will experiment with more spices, possibly adding a little more red pepper for an additional kick. I think I will also try adding some venison for a gamier flavor. All in all...good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. I double it and make five logs as the recipe states and add extra cayenne and pepper flakes to the other five logs batch. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
First had this 10 years ago at an office party. Loved it and was so glad to find the recipe. Exactly like I remembered it. Really tasty, perfectly seasoned. My picky husband and son loved it so that is saying something! My husband wants me to try it again using half venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This recipe was disappointing. It wasn't BAD, as such, just not good. It seems to be missing something, some flavor or spice that I can't put my finger on. My husband and I both were expecting something somewhat sweeter, for some reason. I'm not going to throw this away...it's not that bad. I'll serve it for company and whomever likes it will get to take it home :~D I won't be making this one again, because I'm sure there's something better out there. Oh, FYI, I did use all beef (90% lean) and followed the directions and amounts as presented, making no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
THANK YOU for this recipe! Everyone loved it. I will be making this often. I used deer this time but will try beef for the next batch. I doubled the liquid smoke and added about 3 teaspoons of peppercorns. I omitted the cayenne pepper just because I couldn't find it at the store. For the curing salt I used Mortons tender quick. I cooked them in my roasting pan. That worked perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is almost exactly like the summer sausage that has been handed down to me by my grandparents. It is the best sausage I have ever eaten! Our recipe uses garlic salt instead of garlic powder and has 1/2 teaspoon of black peppercorns per pound of meat. It is really good when made with ground turkey too. That is the way I usually make it these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokpochica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I have made this at least 10 times and it is easy and very tasty. Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This recipe is awesome! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States