Summer Rainbow Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this with 1/4 red onion and I added a small chopped cucumber. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Maybe it would be ok without the onions. I love onions but not with fruit,,, what was I thinking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made a version of this salad with the ingredients I had. Replaced mangos with pineapple, omitted tomatoes and blueberries. Added sliced radishes, chopped jalapenos and olive oil to make a vinagrette. Topped with feta cheese and served on a bed of field greens. Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I love this salad! It is the perfect accompaniment to grilled foods on a hot day, and a great way to incoroporate healthy vegetables & fruits into a meal. I cut down on the onion as others have mentioned or use green onion instead. Be aware that it makes a ton - I'd say the recipe posted makes about 12 servings instead of 8. It is better the next day though, so leftovers aren't really a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This would have been so good without the onion. I thought the flavor of the onion was extremely overpowering. I figured it would be, so I cut it down but only using a half of onion, but it should have been out of the recipe completely. I felt like I wasted all of those good fruits and veggies because of that added onion. But this would have easily been a five star recipe if it stated to let the salad marinate for at least an hour, double the mango stated, and of course, no onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made about 1/3 of this recipe as some in my family don't like avocados and some don't like mangos, I didn't want a bunch left over if no one ate it. I don't care for raw onions but was going to add some anyway and forgot to add them, I will try it again with the onion. My husband thought the combination looked very odd but tried it and said it was ok. My son ate all of what he took it even though he is one who doesn't like avocados. There was a bit left over I had for lunch the next day and it was still good, not wilty or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Didn't have blueberries or pineapple juice, added some spinach, and used a little more mango than stated, but still turned out terrific! Tastes better after refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was very good, flavorful, and easy to put together. The market didn't have blueberries, but I thought the salad was great without. I'm not a fan of raw onion, so I only used half, but next time I'll use the whole thing, because it really combined well with these flavors. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I made this salad for our annual Fourth of July BBQ and it was such a hit, I am planning on making it part of my annual menu. My family just raved about the different flavors blending together perfectly. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Let this sit in the fridge for 24 hours!!! I made and served it yesterday and it was just OK. The flavors were a little rough and it wasn't much of a hit. This morning it is absolutely FANTASTIC! I am eating it right now with Stacy's Simply Naked Baked Pita Chips and it is divine! (Oh, I did add about a tablespoon of honey to it yesterday to tone down the lime juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States