Summer Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I really liked this potato salad - nice change from the store bought stuff. This was my first attempt at making it & it turned out wonderfully - I omitted the celery as I didn't have any & I topped it with real bacon bits. Very Yummy!! was a hit at the BBQ. I'm keeping this one! thanks for the great recipe! - in reading through some of the reviews I will try using olive oil next time & adding some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We had a dinner party with friends and I served this salad, the Bodacious Broccoli Salad, Dave's Low Country Boil, Tartar Sauce I, Old-Fashioned Lemonade from this site, my own homemade cocktail sauce, lots of melted butter, french bread and lots of beer. Then we proceeded to celebrate and immediately fall into a food coma, followed by a movie at the beach. Summer Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
What a great find! I made a few omissions but it went over great with a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This recipe was alright. I substituted olive oil for the veg. oil and only used about 3/4 of what was prescribed. I used miracle whip instead of mayo. It was a nice change from regular potato salad, but not my favorite. The lemon is almost too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was different, but in the good way. I took this to my family reunion and it was gone within a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Very good- nice light dressing without the heavy mayo taste. A bit different from your regualar potatoe salad from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I thought it was o.k. I'll stick to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was only okay. I thought it was missing something. I added a little dill, and that helped, but it still felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Yummy! I was looking for a lighter potato salad for a hot Phoenix barbecue and this was the perfect complement to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This recipe is easy to make, and the lemon gives a summer staple an even more summery flavor. I thought it needed more spice than listed (as many other reviewers did), so I added tarragon and garlic salt. (I omitted the season salt). As we like a tangy taste, I added a bit of rice wine vinegar as well as the lemon juice. The worcestershire turns the dressing and whole salad a bit grey - - still tastes great! This is just another example of how you can use a recipe for a jumping off point for your own creations. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States