Summer Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I will never make another potato salad again! I cut the lemon to two tablespoons as per another reviewer and steamed the potatoes. Absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Wow! Deviled eggs meets potato salad. this was wonderful. I was scared after reading all the reviews about how much lemon to use, so I did it in measured steps. Tasting along the way. I definately ended up using 2 tablespoons of lemon juice instead. For those comments about the greyish color, add turmeric, i add it to all my potato salads, its hardly for the taste, since its so subtle, its more for a yellowish coloring. I did not have celery so I did not use that, but Im sure it would have been much better with it. I would have shredded some carrots for an added color but didnt have any. This dish is definately the only potato salad dish I will ever make, to accomodate those that would not prefer eggs in this salad, the only thing I would do is serve it with and without. Also there is no reason to add veg. oil or olive oil, you dont want that oily flavor, I just added 1 tbl of butter for a little of that flavor. I added 1 tbl of paprika for a kick as well as a bit of lemon zest. It was divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
this recipe is very good. I made mine with everything and also added some red pepper :) Just remember you have to give it time to chill in the fridge...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is the best potato salad I've ever had..light and refreshing,its even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was a nice difference to traditional potato salad. It had a light flavor. I made this to go along with BLT's for dinner. I didn't change a thing. I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This wasn't my favorite potato salad. I was really turned off by the way the dressing looked and smelled. After being in the fridge a few hours, it got a little better but there was a *bite* to it that we didn't really enojy. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
WOW. Really tasty. While I was making it I was turned off by it. Don't be fooled, the final taste is amazing. I could't stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rye, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I really liked this potato salad - nice change from the store bought stuff. This was my first attempt at making it & it turned out wonderfully - I omitted the celery as I didn't have any & I topped it with real bacon bits. Very Yummy!! was a hit at the BBQ. I'm keeping this one! thanks for the great recipe! - in reading through some of the reviews I will try using olive oil next time & adding some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We had a dinner party with friends and I served this salad, the Bodacious Broccoli Salad, Dave's Low Country Boil, Tartar Sauce I, Old-Fashioned Lemonade from this site, my own homemade cocktail sauce, lots of melted butter, french bread and lots of beer. Then we proceeded to celebrate and immediately fall into a food coma, followed by a movie at the beach. Summer Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
What a great find! I made a few omissions but it went over great with a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States