Summer Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
loved this recipe!! I did not use the mint or the sherry - instead I added a slash of balsamic vinegar. My Italian husband (whose mother is THE BEST COOK) loved this - as did all my guest. I will make this again and again. Very easy and YUMMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe and Jill
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is our household favorite pasta dish! I always make it for guests, and everyone always wants the recipe. I read the other reviews, and don't let the cheese melting problem some people mention deter you from trying this delicious recipe. TIPS FOR GETTING THE CHEESE TO MELT: 1. Add cheese to pasta as soon as pasta is drained. 2. Use a stainless steel bowl when mixing the cheese with the pasta so the heat from the cooked pasta will be retained, aiding in a quicker melting process. 3. Use two forks and go back and forth in opposite directions right after adding the cheese. This helps to distribute the cheese more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I didn't have any fresh tomato's or basil, so I used 2 cans of the new Aylmers tomato's with olive oil and garlic and I used a TBSP of McCormicks Basil in a tube,otherwise followed the recipe as printed, the taste was wonderful. I did not drain the canned tomato's but allowed the pasta to absorb the excess juice before I served it. I also did not like the look of the cheese and found it made clean-up more difficult (the cheese really coated the forks etc), next time I am going to skip adding the cheese and just serve the pasta with a shaker of parmesan so that everyone can add their own at the table, also will have a shaker with red pepper flakes so that the teenagers can spice it up as much as they like. I think the parmesan will be sufficient for us without the 2 1/2 cups of fontina and asiago which really add a lot of calories not to mention expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This pasta is incredible. I made it for my mother over Christmas, and she went bonkers over it. I used Angel Hair pasta and about 3 cups of shredded asiago & fontina cheese. I also made the marinade and let it set the day before I made it. TRY THIS RECIPE, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. I could live off of this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I did make alterations to the recipe to suit what I had on hand, but BOY oh boy was this delicious. Instead of the sherry, I used 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I only had 1lb of Roma tomatoes, so I used a 14oz can of Italian style chopped tomatoes, which I added to the fresh ones after they marinated. I omitted the mint. Because the cheese this recipe calls for add so much fat and cost, I used about 1/2 to 1cup grated Parmesan. While the water for the pasta was boiling, I sauteed some red bell peppers, fresh baby spinach, white mushrooms, and zucchini to add when I mixed the noodles with the tomatoes. The veggies added a lot of flavor and textures. I found I had a lot of extra sauce/tomatoes with 12oz of pasta, so I cooked 16oz. I toasted some fresh bread, and it was almost like eating bruschetta with my pasta! My boyfriend loved it too. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I really liked this a lot, but I also played with some ideas that turned our really well. I don't like fontina cheese, so I used all asiago, which was great. Also, tomatoes in our area aren't very good, so I used plum tomatoes instead: they worked really well and were so sweet! I also added broiled shrimp at the end. I took another person's tip and substituted balsalmic vinegar instead of sherry. The mint was a great, unexpected addition, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
My biggest problem was that the cheese (probably the fontina) didn't melt well. I kept tossing it but it ended up staying in some smaller "blobs." That's OK on a pizza but I didn't like it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This was really good! I used plum tomatoes & followed the recipe exactly. Serve warm so the cheese is melty & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Really good and so easy! Skipped the mint & the sherry. Did use some lime juice and a little red wine vinegar. Also used fresh parmesan and feta. Chopped a little red onion in too. Will make all summer with homegrown basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States