Summer Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
so yummie!!! i love how light it was and the cheese made it so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Refreshing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This was really good! I used plum tomatoes & followed the recipe exactly. Serve warm so the cheese is melty & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Fabulous! Finally, my carb. craving quenched!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This pasta is incredible. I made it for my mother over Christmas, and she went bonkers over it. I used Angel Hair pasta and about 3 cups of shredded asiago & fontina cheese. I also made the marinade and let it set the day before I made it. TRY THIS RECIPE, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. I could live off of this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
My biggest problem was that the cheese (probably the fontina) didn't melt well. I kept tossing it but it ended up staying in some smaller "blobs." That's OK on a pizza but I didn't like it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I didn't have any fresh tomato's or basil, so I used 2 cans of the new Aylmers tomato's with olive oil and garlic and I used a TBSP of McCormicks Basil in a tube,otherwise followed the recipe as printed, the taste was wonderful. I did not drain the canned tomato's but allowed the pasta to absorb the excess juice before I served it. I also did not like the look of the cheese and found it made clean-up more difficult (the cheese really coated the forks etc), next time I am going to skip adding the cheese and just serve the pasta with a shaker of parmesan so that everyone can add their own at the table, also will have a shaker with red pepper flakes so that the teenagers can spice it up as much as they like. I think the parmesan will be sufficient for us without the 2 1/2 cups of fontina and asiago which really add a lot of calories not to mention expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Really good and so easy! Skipped the mint & the sherry. Did use some lime juice and a little red wine vinegar. Also used fresh parmesan and feta. Chopped a little red onion in too. Will make all summer with homegrown basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I thought it was going to be incredible but it wasn't. The taste of the marinade was very tasty aside from having so much garlic it overpowers everything else. And I love garlic. I love fontina, but it was gross in this dish. The marinade changed to a strange garlicky liquid after it was added to hot pasta. It is beyond me why anyone would rate this 5 stars. It would be better if the herbs, garlic, and oil were pureed and the tomatoes were peeled, but that doesn't solve the problems that the sauce is too thin to coat the pasta and the globs of cheese sticking to everything,including a horrendous cleanup experience afterward. It stuck to the dishes like wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States