Summer Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This was very good. Even my husband, who says he hates squash, liked it. As others suggested, I salted, rinsed, then patted dry the zucchini. It wasn't too watery as a result. I also used prepared pasta sauce and simmered until very thick. I would have given 5 stars, but it was very time consuming when I added the extra steps of prepping the zucchini. If I make this again, I would prep the zucchini in advance and allow to drain before beginning the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Using zucchini is a great way to increase nutritional value and decrease calories! Followed recipe, but used ground turkey, orange pepper, and added mushrooms since I had those at home. Also used spaghetti sauce like another cook did, and the results were wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
great recipe! Of course it's different from lasagna, but a wonder ful dish on its own. Definitely "sweat" the zucchini (salt it and let it drain, then pat with paper towels). Only change I made was to use ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, and fresh basil and oregano ( which I grow in my garden).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
We made this last night and it was delicious! It's completely gone and only my husband and I ate it :P not sure how much beef was in it...pretty sure it was more than 1pound, and did a whole pepper instead of half. It wasn't runny at all, but that's probably because the meat soaked up most of the sauce. We will make it again the same way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
It tastes pretty good, but was watery, despite all precautions taken to prevent it being watery. Overall, it's not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo Ann Voltattorni-Adams
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Mix if turkey and extra lean ground beef. Low to non fat cheeses. Was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great alternative to traditional lasagna! Will keep this in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Try this dish - you won't be disappointed! We tried this as an alternative to traditional lasagna and I honestly didn't think that it would be as good as that favorite dish at our house. However, I was very pleasantly surprised as was everyone else that night. Since then we've made it a couple of more times and each time are very impressed with how well it turns out. This is a great way to use up some of that prolific summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was delicious! Wow, I will be making this again! I have been planning on making this for a while with my zucchinis, but I have had so much yellow squash, I used that. I also have been overrun with tomatoes. I have canned sauce, but made my own sauce and diced some toms too. The sauce given in this recipe is very flavorful-we loved it!! My husband doesn't like marinara sauces and he loved this dish!! I also used fresh basil and oregano. A real garden meal! Thank you for helping me use all my veggies! I also added some toast with butter, garlic powder and Italian seasonings to mop up the delicious juices. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The flavor was good, baked it twice as long as called for but it came out like lasagna soup! Very disappointed, wasted my morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Pinter
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States