Summer Garden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This recipe was great! Was making it on a chilly night and thought, at first, that it would be too light and summery. But I used 1 1/2 lbs. of pork tenderloin cutlets in place of chops, and the vegetable stock, reserving 3 T. Added a splash of white wine for some zing, and thickened the sauce with leftover stock and flour. All served over rice. What a great taste, and hearty meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is an absolutely stunning recipe to serve for dinner guests on a summer evening on the veranda. All my guests asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Very good. A nice change from the more traditional pork chop recipes. I especially liked the fresh flavors, the cinammon and allspice added a nice accent but were not overwhelming. I used yellow squash instead of zucchini because I had it on hand...very adaptable and simple but delicious recipe. Worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
YUM! My family loved this meal. I subbed in a cup of white wine for the vegetable stock, which added a nice depth of flavor with the veggies and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I used onions instead of leeks and a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh tomatoes and vegetable stock. It was delicious served on a bed of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
WOW! This recipe is to die for! I used canned whole tomatoes, and wild mushrooms instead of zucchini (cause we dont like zucchini). The cinnamon gave it a really well rounded flavor. I simply served with homemade wheat dinner rolls. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
We had this for dinner tonight, and it was fabulous. I browned the chops, sauteed the veggies and then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hours and it turned our really nicely. I added worcestershire sauce and more salt and pepper to spice it up a bit. Served it with pasta. Thanks for a recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Great flavor! I did end up subbing the wine & vinegar for the stock, and it turned out just fine. Used onion (no leeks) and canned tomatoes, too, but I don't think that made a fundamental difference in taste. The cinnamon and allspice really give the chops a that extra "something". I prefer herbed rice and a nice green salad with this dish. A loaf of breadmaker bread rounded out our meal nicely. Even my preschool aged kids enjoyed this pork chop dish. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love this dish. It makes me look forward to eating vegetables, which is unusual for me. I had eggplant in the fridge so I cubed it and sauteed it with the other veggies. I didn't have cinnamon stick but I'm not sure I would like that in it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome! I love this recipe and have made it a couple of times now. I love that you can use so many vegetables. The pork chops come out so moist and flavorful, even reheating the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States