Summer Garden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't care for the cinnamon/allspice combination of taste with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent TJEAN! Family raved about it! I used your ingredients almost to the T, adding fresh ground black pepper to the dry rub. I used a large electric fry pan and browned the meat & removed, sauteed the veggies lightly & removed, deglazed with the vegetable stock (next time I'll use white wine) & stirred in one can of diced tomatoes. Return the meat, pour the veggies on top, cover and simmer 20 minutes, while white rice was cooking. Perfect one pan dinner! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynnergyrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Okay, I changed this a bit, but it turned out to be delicious! The only veggies I used were leeks, celery, carrots and tomatoes. I browned the pork chops first, then removed them and used the same skillet to begin cooking my veggies (except the tomatoes). After the veggies were about halfway done, I deglazed the pan (with the veggies in it) with some chicken broth and a bit of cider vinegar. Then I put the pork chops back in and added the tomatoes. I had to remove the pork chops again for a bit, just so I could reduce the liquid in the pan without overcooking the chops. The veggies + sauce thickened nicely. I can see that if you used zucchini you would want to add it towards the end; and i only used enough olive oil to brown the chops and saute the veggies. The rest wasn't necessary. I added a pinch of cinnamon and allspice, plus celery salt and dried savory. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome! I love this recipe and have made it a couple of times now. I love that you can use so many vegetables. The pork chops come out so moist and flavorful, even reheating the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love this dish. It makes me look forward to eating vegetables, which is unusual for me. I had eggplant in the fridge so I cubed it and sauteed it with the other veggies. I didn't have cinnamon stick but I'm not sure I would like that in it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
YUM! My family loved this meal. I subbed in a cup of white wine for the vegetable stock, which added a nice depth of flavor with the veggies and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Like several other reviewers, I would have preferred this without the cinnamon and allspice. The cinnamon stick I used was very fresh, and the flavor was way too over-powering. The only change I made was to use canned diced tomatoes, and I used some of the juice for extra liquid. This was very easy and quick, but I would change a few things if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was such an unbelievably easy and filling meal. My husband LOVED this recipe, and he normally doesn't touch zucchini with a 10-ft pole! I just loved how healthy it was, and all the colors, and the pork chops were DELICIOUS!!! However, next time I will omit the cinnamon and allspice, and add something different - the combination didn't work for me on the vegetables. I read other reviews before trying it, and purposefully watched my vegetables in the skillet, not letting them blacken TOO much, so they were cooked perfectly after being simmered and not too mushy! I served it with wild rice and french bread...ummmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I didn't care for this recipe at all. My husband liked it more than me. I didn't like the combination of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDREFFITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This recipe was really delicious and easy to make. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and it tasted just fine. However, next time, I'll probably use less olive oil because we thought it tasted too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States