Summer Garden Crustless Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
What a great recipe!! Fantastic way to pack a meal with nutritious vegetables. Closely followed the recipe but added 4, chopped sweet peppers and used almond milk instead of whole milk. After washing the kale, immersed it in a solution of water, lemon juice and salt, and then vigorously massaged it for about 3 minutes. There was not a trace of bitterness in the cooked kale. Total bake time was about 60, rather than 50 minutes for the center part to firm up. While two of us felt the seasoning was spot on, one person added several drops of Frank’s Red Hot sauce. After tasting a piece, I might add some hot sauce to the recipe next time but this quiche certainly stands out without it. The sad part is that the entire quiche is gone without even a tiny piece leftover for tomorrow’s lunch. MATTSBELLY, thank you for sharing a great veggie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
It was absolutely delicious! I did modify it (like most do!) I use whatever leafy green is going to go bad next, one time was collard greens, this time swiss chard. both times delicious. Added mushrooms too. I cooked the veggies in a cast iron skillet, so rather than transferring it over, i poured the egg mix into the skillet and put the whole thing in the oven. I added a scant cup of bisquick as well, make sure its light and fluffy! thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Duda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a good recipe to use with Kale. I took the advice of another review and massaged the Kale in a solution of water, lemon juice, and salt. I made one quich without cheese and it was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eireann_nm
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Perfect base recipe! I never leave anything the way it is written which sometimes works but often times it doesn't. In this case it did! I used the full 5 cups of kale, 1/2 cup carrots, 1/2 cup shredded zucchini and about 1/2 cup tomatoes. I also added some fresh thyme a little bit of mustard (1 1/2 tsp ish) and extra pepper. They taste wonderful even though I forgot to add the cheese! I think they would be even better with a little bit of salsa on top. Also, I baked them in medium sized muffin tins because I want to freeze them for quick snacks later so the cooking time was about 30 minutes. This is going in the recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I did not use tomatoes or carrots because I did not have them in my fridge. I also used Jarlsberg cheese instead of cheddar. I keep skim milk in the fridge so I used that plus 1/4 cup of Alfredo sauce to add some richness. The kids loved it and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
A keeper! Took me much longer than 20 minutes to make. It took 60 minutes to bake. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was pretty good. I subbed spinach for the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Summer Garden Crustless Quiche Haiku: "Took longer to bake. Only made two small changes, leftovers better!" Mine was more like 70 min. to not be wet in the middle, so we were hungry and had burnt our toast in anticipation of eating the quiche on top of it, so that was a bummer, but the end result was really quite wonderful! Used half the cheese, and 3 tsp. dried parsley instead of fresh. (Would've preferred fresh if I'd had it!) I never thought to use carrots in a quiche, and I usually go w/ spinach as my green, but the entire combo of veggies here w/ the kale was awesome! The leftovers were better in my opinion as it had a chance to set more and then cut into prettier slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great. Made it for my book club. As others have note, it can be make with 2% milk to no detriment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet4ta
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Yummy! A nice quick dinner. I had everything on hand and also added 2 chopped aidells mango Jalepeno sausages. Next time I will add roasted red peppers. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States