Summer Fruit Galettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I accidently bought frozen Pillsbury Pastry dough and oh my what a good mistake! It was like a fluffy fruit paradise! I tossed my fruit in 1 tsp cinnamon along with the sugar. To.Die.For.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliamomof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I was so impressed by how easy, beauitful, yet sophisticated this dessert was. I made it for my mom's birthday & we all loved it. However, this recipe should have been a bit more precise on its ingredients & how much you should really put in. I probably put in too many strawberries, because the juice from the strawberries actually LEAKED through my galette & punched out too holes. I'm sure the flour would have done the trick to soak up some juice, so make sure you have a good ratio of fruits & flour/sugar. Also, I added a little touch to the galette ends after looking at some other galette recipes. After folding the ends over, I brushed some egg all around the ends so that it could give that it could catch the sugar nicely & have that nice, golden brown, crunchy crust. I suggest others to try out different things as well. This recipe is so versatile! Before adding the fruit toppings, I spread a thin coat of nutella (for a little surprise!) & on the other galette, some blackberry preserves (i wish i had orange marmalade...) Many original galette recipes call for this almond pastry called, frangipane of which you blend a mixture of almonds, sugar, & butter to create an almond paste. This almond paste makes a VERY scrumptious spread underneath the fruit filling. I'm definitely going to try that next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Love this... so delish. And it's not too bad for you, especially if you cut back a touch on the sugar. I brush melted peach marmalade (mixed with a bit of water) over it to "gloss" it up and enhance the presentation. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethCoughy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I only made one of these, and I used mostly peaches, with a few blueberries in the center. Since my peaches were very ripe and juicy, I added a little extra flour for more thickening power. I took another reviewer's advice and brushed the crust with egg yolk before sprinkling on the turbinado sugar. Not only did this help the sugar stick, it made a nice golden crust. This was a wonderful dessert with a real "Wow" factor, and our guest said it looked like something that would be served in a restaurant. I'm happy to have discovered a recipe for something that's so easy to make but impressive at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent and well received but needs 3T flour per tart, sprinkle of flour on parchment paper, and bake 20+ min til well browned so crust is browned on bottom. Also, egg white wash b/f filling and egg wash b/f t sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This is the first rating and review for this recipe. This was very good and very easy!This recipe makes 2 Galettes,one is strawberry/blueberry and one is peach/blueberry.I don't suggest making the peach unless you can find really soft peaches.Next time I'll just make 2 strawberry/blueberry ones.I didn't have ice cream to serve with it,but as stated in the recipe, it would of gone perfectly with this dessert.I will definitely make this again!Thank you Shannonlolly for this tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Any type of seasonal fruit can be used to fill this rustic tart, but I've always used fresh as opposed to frozen fruit (usually skip the flour as well). Brushing the folded edges with milk or cream prior to sprinkling the turbinado sugar allows for better sticking and gives the baked crust a nice gloss as well. I love ideas such as this - fantastic results with minimal fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is so easy, and tastes good, too! I made just the peach and blueberry galette, and baked it on a baking stone for 15 mins. This is a quick and impressive dessert that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made just one, as didn't have enough fruit for 2. My 3 peaches came to about 3 cups. I didn't have blueberries, so substituted 1/2 cup of frozen berry mix of raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and used Wondra instead of all purpose flour. Tasted great with store bought roll out pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
really good, really easy! I have made galettes before with my own crust, which is good, but much more time consuming. I like that I can do this in 15 minutes and it tastes like I worked for 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States