Summer Fruit Galettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
super easy, super delicious! I made my own pastry instead of the store bought, think it made it even better! Served this to our potluck group and it was a hit! I added some blackberries to the strawberry mix and I used cocoanut sugar instead of turbinado sugar and cut it back to 1 1/2 tablespoons per pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was easy to make - impressed my friends and can be varied with different fruits. I'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This recipe is the perfect platform for fresh summer fruit. We loved it. I used the “Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust” on this site, making this effortless and quick. It makes a beautiful rustic dessert that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I made this to take to a gourmet dinner potluck. While I usually don't bring recipes that I haven't tried out in advance, I decided to take a chance with this one . Score!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vashon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent and well received but needs 3T flour per tart, sprinkle of flour on parchment paper, and bake 20+ min til well browned so crust is browned on bottom. Also, egg white wash b/f filling and egg wash b/f t sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Any type of seasonal fruit can be used to fill this rustic tart, but I've always used fresh as opposed to frozen fruit (usually skip the flour as well). Brushing the folded edges with milk or cream prior to sprinkling the turbinado sugar allows for better sticking and gives the baked crust a nice gloss as well. I love ideas such as this - fantastic results with minimal fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made just one, as didn't have enough fruit for 2. My 3 peaches came to about 3 cups. I didn't have blueberries, so substituted 1/2 cup of frozen berry mix of raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and used Wondra instead of all purpose flour. Tasted great with store bought roll out pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I only made one of these, and I used mostly peaches, with a few blueberries in the center. Since my peaches were very ripe and juicy, I added a little extra flour for more thickening power. I took another reviewer's advice and brushed the crust with egg yolk before sprinkling on the turbinado sugar. Not only did this help the sugar stick, it made a nice golden crust. This was a wonderful dessert with a real "Wow" factor, and our guest said it looked like something that would be served in a restaurant. I'm happy to have discovered a recipe for something that's so easy to make but impressive at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Oh my! Yummy. Added a bit of cinnamon. No strawberries, but really great peaches with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoftballMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
really good, really easy! I have made galettes before with my own crust, which is good, but much more time consuming. I like that I can do this in 15 minutes and it tastes like I worked for 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States