Summer Fruit Galettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LisaD
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It's wonderful. I substituted the raw sugar for regular brown sugar and turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
It is very good. I would add more or less sugar to the fruits depending on how sweet they are. I sprinkled a combination of brown sugar and cinnamon on the edges. I also splashed some vanilla to the fruit mix and added a pinch of cinnamon too. It was very good. A scoop of vanilla ice cream would be the cherry on top of this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Easy and great ending to a summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was delicious and super easy! I had one pie crust left over, and didn't feel like making a full pie, so when I came across this recipe, I was enthralled! I halved the fruit easily, but needed a little more time for it to bake since most of the fruit was frozen, and added about 10 extra minutes to my fresh pluot, and frozen blueberry & strawberry filling. Gorgeous presentation, and a total snap to prep. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Good, but it's even better with homemade crust or martha stewart's pate sucree. I like to use apples and mix in cinnamon and nutmeg as well. also, 400 for about 30 min will take away any doughiness. Needs longer if you use apples to get them softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Easy and delicious. The 2 of us almost ate one whole galette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Delicious. I actually used some leftover puff pastry I had instead of pie crust. It was very easy and very good, especially with a little vanilla FroYo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have made this 4x now. The first time I did the egg wash which was good, but I hate throwing away most of the egg. I also brushed it with coconut oil and I liked it. I have also just used nothing and sprinkled sugar on the crust albeit some of it falls off. This recipe is great because it assembles quick and is healthier than fruit pie. Fantastic way to enjoy summer fruit. I cook mine at 400 for 20-25 minutes. It's important to add the full amount of sugar and if the fruit is at all tart, maybe even a little more. I tried skimping on the sugar in the past and it came out tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was really good and pretty easy. The only thing I'd say is that 15 min. is a little optimistic for prep time. It took that long to peel, core and slice the apples. Then another 10 to prep the strawberries. I also used an egg wash before sprinkling the sugar on so it would come out with a golden, crispy crust. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
A feast for the eye and the taste buds! After making my first galette with fresh mixed berries, I got creative as this is such a flexible recipe. Some delicious combinations that had my guests raving included: Nutella and pears, vanilla custard and peaches with peach jam glaze, and mixed berries with lemon marmalade glaze. Be creative, but keep in mind what other reviewers have noted, too much fruit and it will leak. I also used the egg wash to make the pastry brown up nicely. Definitely a new favorite easy-peasy recipe that makes it look like I slaved for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States