Summer Fruit Galettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Easy and great ending to a summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was delicious and super easy! I had one pie crust left over, and didn't feel like making a full pie, so when I came across this recipe, I was enthralled! I halved the fruit easily, but needed a little more time for it to bake since most of the fruit was frozen, and added about 10 extra minutes to my fresh pluot, and frozen blueberry & strawberry filling. Gorgeous presentation, and a total snap to prep. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Good, but it's even better with homemade crust or martha stewart's pate sucree. I like to use apples and mix in cinnamon and nutmeg as well. also, 400 for about 30 min will take away any doughiness. Needs longer if you use apples to get them softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Easy and delicious. The 2 of us almost ate one whole galette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Delicious. I actually used some leftover puff pastry I had instead of pie crust. It was very easy and very good, especially with a little vanilla FroYo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have made this 4x now. The first time I did the egg wash which was good, but I hate throwing away most of the egg. I also brushed it with coconut oil and I liked it. I have also just used nothing and sprinkled sugar on the crust albeit some of it falls off. This recipe is great because it assembles quick and is healthier than fruit pie. Fantastic way to enjoy summer fruit. I cook mine at 400 for 20-25 minutes. It's important to add the full amount of sugar and if the fruit is at all tart, maybe even a little more. I tried skimping on the sugar in the past and it came out tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was really good and pretty easy. The only thing I'd say is that 15 min. is a little optimistic for prep time. It took that long to peel, core and slice the apples. Then another 10 to prep the strawberries. I also used an egg wash before sprinkling the sugar on so it would come out with a golden, crispy crust. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
A feast for the eye and the taste buds! After making my first galette with fresh mixed berries, I got creative as this is such a flexible recipe. Some delicious combinations that had my guests raving included: Nutella and pears, vanilla custard and peaches with peach jam glaze, and mixed berries with lemon marmalade glaze. Be creative, but keep in mind what other reviewers have noted, too much fruit and it will leak. I also used the egg wash to make the pastry brown up nicely. Definitely a new favorite easy-peasy recipe that makes it look like I slaved for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
super easy, super delicious! I made my own pastry instead of the store bought, think it made it even better! Served this to our potluck group and it was a hit! I added some blackberries to the strawberry mix and I used cocoanut sugar instead of turbinado sugar and cut it back to 1 1/2 tablespoons per pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was easy to make - impressed my friends and can be varied with different fruits. I'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States