Summer Fruit Galettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I make this with a bit of almond paste crumbled, add before the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Dubord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Zwahlen
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I thought there would be a fight over the leftovers! I'm finding that it takes up to 24 minutes for the crust to brown and the syrup to set up well. Have made this several times now and it is consistently a pleaser. Don't be afraid to try different fruit mixtures, but peaches and blueberries are hard to beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Zwahlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I've admired the elegant look of galettes for years but never tried to make one. So easy and delicious!! And, nice to make a small dessert so there aren't leftovers to tempt me the next morning. I found that the one with more strawberries was a bit too runny, so I think I'll omit the strawberries next time. And, for mine it took 18 minutes before the crust browned enough. Thanks for sharing - I will definitely do this often, experimenting with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was amazing! It was so fresh and light. I also recommend making the strawberry blueberry for both instead of one peach blueberry and one strawberry blueberry. The strawberry blueberry was amazing and was the first to be gone!!Will def be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is so easy and good. Recipe makes two full-sized galettes so unless you have a crowd only make one and half everything and omit one fruit. We enjoyed the nectarines and blueberries one best. I made it again using fresh summer bing cherries, halved and pitted marinated in amaretto liquor but it was disappointing. However every time I used an egg-white wash brushed on top and sides and I add sliced almonds to fruit mix and all over crust. Yummy good. Also after you do the pinch pleats gently hold your hands over top to tighten the hold of folds on crust it comes out prettier and holds all together without bursting open. Next time a bit of almond extract added to fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSusan131

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
These were amazingly EASY and super AWESOMELY Delicious! Thank you for making me look like a rock star! I got creative and arranged the fruits so they made pretty patterns... a direct quote "It's like summer in my mouth" LOL :-D ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used nectarines and blueberries and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The fruit filling with flour/sugar mixture is good but I was hoping for a good pie dough recipe? I made my regular one and well, perhaps I didn't roll it thin enough because during baking my plates unraveled. It was still delicious though ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
They were out of pie crusts at the store so we bought puff pastry instead...I can't imagine this without the puff pastry! I used both sheets and cut them each in half to make 4 total. It was amazing and super easy. Perfect summer dessert! I would say that the turbinado sugar wasn't that necessary. It didn't take away from the taste, but I didn't notice it either. Overall Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaD
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It's wonderful. I substituted the raw sugar for regular brown sugar and turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States